FWAA Clemson News

FWAA unveils 2022 Freshman All-America Team

DALLAS (FWAA) – North Carolina quarterback Drake Maye was the toast of Atlantic Coast Conference quarterbacks this season, throwing for 38 touchdowns and leading the league in passing yards (4,321) and total touchdowns (45). For his dynamic efforts that led the Tar Heels (9-5) to the ACC’s Coastal Division title, the Football Writers Association of America awarded him as its Freshman Player of the Year presented by Chris Doering Mortgage.

FWAA, Goodyear Cotton Bowl unveil 2022 All-America Team

The 2022 Football Writers Association of America All-America Team, presented in partnership with the Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic, is headlined by nine first-teamers from the four teams competing in the College Football Playoff, three repeat All-Americans and a record 16 total selections from the Big Ten Conference. There are 19 schools represented from six Football Bowl Subdivision conferences on the first team and 34 different schools and eight conferences plus an Independent included on the overall 54-man team.

Clemson is Cheez-It Bowl National Team of the Week

The Clemson Tigers rushed their way back from an 11-point deficit in the fourth quarter to reward their sellout Homecoming crowd with a 27-21 win over No. 14 Syracuse, their 38th consecutive home win that set the Atlantic Coast Conference record. For also extending the FBS’ longest active win streak to 14 games and staying unbeaten, Clemson (8-0) earned the Cheez-It Bowl National Team of the Week honor for games of the weekend of Oct. 22, as selected by the Football Writers Association of America.

Clemson's Bresee nominated for Orange Bowl Courage Award

Clemson’s Bryan Bresee is this week’s nominee for the 2022 Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award. Bresee, a third-year sophomore, started and posted two tackles and one quarterback hurry in Saturday’s win over Furman, before traveling to be with his family as his 15-year-old sister Ella battles an aggressive form of brain cancer.

FWAA unveils 2021 Super 11 Award winners

Three first-time winners and eight previous ones comprise the 13th Super 11 Awards, which the Football Writers Association of America gives out annually to the best performing sports information departments in the Football Bowl Subdivision. The awards announced this week are for the 2021 season. In addition, the FWAA presented a Super 11 Coach of the Year Award to Boston College Coach Jeff Hafley who granted outstanding access to his program during the 2021 season. He is the fourth head coach to win this award, which began with the 2018 season.