National Collegiate Baseball Writers May 17, 2005
For Immediate Release
Contact: Mike Montoro
Pacific's Baum, Hofstra's Denlea honored

DALLAS (NCBWA) The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) released the Pro-Line Cap National Player of the Week awards for the period ending May 15. Pacific freshman first/third baseman Justin Baum was named National Hitter of the Week, while Hofstra sophomore right-hander Jeff Denlea was named National Pitcher of the Week. The NCBWA Board reviews candidates from each Division I Conference each week and names winners each Tuesday throughout the season.

Pro-Line Cap: The Choice of Champions.Baum led the Pacific Tigers to a 3-1 week as he was 13-16 at the plate (.813) with four home runs and 11 RBI. His slugging percentage was 1.813 and his on-base percentage was .850. The La Mesa, Calif., native drew one walk and was hit three times. Baum scored nine runs, had two doubles, one triple and 29 total bases. He delivered the game-tying RBI in Pacific's 9-8 loss to Cal State Northridge in the top of the ninth inning as he has a two-out single to tie the game at 7-7. His fourth home run of the week tied him for the Pacific single season school record with 15 home runs this season. Baum tied Vic Sanchez, who hit 15 HR's in 1994.

Denlea went 3-0 with a save and a 0.00 ERA in four conference games as Hofstra went 5-0 last week. The sophomore closer allowed just four hits and no runs over 8.1 innings of work and struck out five. The Oyster Bay, N.Y., native worked four innings in the Pride's 8-7, 12-inning victory over Old Dominion on Sunday, didn't allow a hit in the 10th inning of a 9-8 victory over the Monarchs on Saturday and worked out of a bases-loaded jam in the ninth of Hofstra's 9-5 win over James Madison last Monday to record his three victories.

With this week's honor, Denlea automatically is named to the watch list for Roger Clemens Award, given to the national collegiate pitcher of the year, sponsored by the Greater Houston Baseball Organization.

The Fort Worth-based Pro-Line Cap Co. supplies the official cap to more than 100 Division I college teams. This is the first season Pro-Line has sponsored the NCBWA's Players of the Week. The sponsorship provides for plaques to be awarded to each of the weekly winners and other promotional consideration. For more information about Pro-Line, visit their website at

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. For more information about the NCBWA, visit the association's official website,

2005 Pro-Line Cap Players of the Week:
Feb. 8: Grant Rembert, Elon (Hitter); Erik Averill, Arizona State (Pitcher)
Feb. 15: Scott Bridges, Arkansas (Hitter); Brian Bogusevic, Tulane (Pitcher)
Feb. 22: Drew Stubbs, Texas (Hitter); Taylor Fowler, Arkansas State (Pitcher)
March 1: Kurt Eichorn, Kent State (Hitter); Tyler Chambliss, Florida State (Pitcher)
March 8: Matt Wieters, Georgia Tech (Hitter); J.C. Biagi, Centenary (Pitcher)
March 15: Jeremy Slayden, Georgia Tech (Hitter); Lance Broadway, TCU and Gib Hobson, N.C. State (Pitcher)
March 22: Alex Gordon, Nebraska (Hitter); Luke Hochevar, Tennessee (Pitcher)
March 29: Josh Rodriguez, Rice (Hitter); Brent Gaphardt, Delaware (Pitcher)
April 5: Mike Baxter, Vanderbilt (Hitter); Max Scherzer, Missouri (Pitcher)
April 12: Dusty Bensko, Illinois (Hitter); J. Brent Cox, Texas (Pitcher)
April 19: Mike Costanzo, Coastal Carolina (Hitter); Adrian Alaniz, Texas (Pitcher)
April 26: Brandon Taylor, BYU (Hitter); Ricky Brooks, East Carolina (Pitcher)
May 3: Doug Beck, Utah (Hitter); Matt Maloney, Ole Miss (Pitcher)
May 10: J.R. Kyes, Illinois (Hitter); Brad Lincoln, Houston (Pitcher)
May 17: Justin Beam, Pacific (Hitter); Jeff Denlea, Hofstra (Pitcher)
May 24: Craig Cooper, Notre Dame and Adam Tucker, Birmingham-Southern (Hitter); Lance Broadway, TCU (Pitcher)

Related links:
Pro-Line Cap to sponsor NCBWA Players of the Week
Pro-Line Cap Player of the Week plaques

Pro-Line Athletic: The Choice of Champions.