National Collegiate Baseball Writers Feb. 22, 2005
For Immediate Release
Contact: Mike Montoro
Texas' Stubbs, Arkansas State's Fowler honored

DALLAS (NCBWA) The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) released the Pro-Line Cap National Players of the Week for the period ending Feb. 20. Texas sophomore outfielder Drew Stubbs was named National Hitter of the Week, while Arkansas State's junior left-hander Taylor Fowler was named National Pitcher of the Week. The NCBWA Board reviews candidates from each Division I Conference each week and names winners each Tuesday throughout the season.

Pro-Line Cap: The Choice of Champions.

Stubbs batted .556 (10-for-18) with six runs scored, two doubles, four home runs, 11 RBI, two walks and two stolen bases in leading the Longhorns to a three-game sweep of No. 5 Stanford, a mid-week victory over UT-San Antonio and extend their record to 11-0, their best start since 1995. Not only did the Atlanta, Texas, native hit a team-best .556 over Texas' four games last week with club-high totals for runs (6), hits (10), doubles (2), home runs (4), RBI (11), total bases (24), slugging (1.333), on-base percentage (.600) and stolen bases (2), but his effort included a .538 average with three home runs, four runs scored, eight RBI and a pair of steals over three games against No. 5 Stanford (Feb. 18-20).

With his inside-the-park home run against No. 5 Stanford on Feb. 19, Stubbs became the first Longhorns player to hit an inside-the-park round-tripper since Omar Quintanilla turned the trick at home against Arizona on March 9, 2003. Notably, when he connected on his second inside-the-park home run in as many days to win the series finale with the Cardinal in the bottom of the ninth inning on Feb. 20, Stubbs became the first player in UT history to hit two inside-the-park home runs in two games. Both of Stubbs inside-the-park home runs also accounted for the game-winning RBI in each of Texas' final two games against the Cardinal. For the week, Stubbs also batted .875 (7-for-8) and .833 (5-for-6), respectively, with runners on base and in scoring position.

Fowler tossed just the sixth no-hitter in Arkansas State baseball history on Saturday afternoon as the Indians defeated Big Ten member Northwestern, 4-0 in the UTA-Invitational. Fowler, a native of Marion, Ark., was making his first-ever start at ASU. He tossed his first collegiate complete game as he struck out nine batters and walked four. He only faced 31 batters in his 124-pitch masterpiece. Fowler became the first to toss a no-hitter at ASU since 1993 and the first solo no-hitter since 1991.

With this week's honor, Fowler automatically is named to the watch list for Roger Clemens Award, given to the national collegiate pitcher of the year, sponsored by the Greater Houston Baseball Organization.

The Fort Worth-based Pro-Line Cap Co. supplies the official cap to more than 100 Division I college teams. This is the first season Pro-Line has sponsored the NCBWA's Players of the Week. The sponsorship provides for plaques to be awarded to each of the weekly winners and other promotional consideration. For more information about Pro-Line, visit their website at

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. For more information about the NCBWA, visit the association's official website,

2005 Pro-Line Cap Players of the Week:
Feb. 8: Grant Rembert, Elon (Hitter); Erik Averill, Arizona State (Pitcher)
Feb. 15: Scott Bridges, Arkansas (Hitter); Brian Bogusevic, Tulane (Pitcher)
Feb. 22: Drew Stubbs, Texas (Hitter); Taylor Fowler, Arkansas State (Pitcher)
March 1: Kurt Eichorn, Kent State (Hitter); Tyler Chambliss, Florida State (Pitcher)
March 8: Matt Wieters, Georgia Tech (Hitter); J.C. Biagi, Centenary (Pitcher)
March 15: Jeremy Slayden, Georgia Tech (Hitter); Lance Broadway, TCU and Gib Hobson, N.C. State (Pitcher)
March 22: Alex Gordon, Nebraska (Hitter); Luke Hochevar, Tennessee (Pitcher)
March 29: Josh Rodriguez, Rice (Hitter); Brent Gaphardt, Delaware (Pitcher)
April 5: Mike Baxter, Vanderbilt (Hitter); Max Scherzer, Missouri (Pitcher)
April 12: Dusty Bensko, Illinois (Hitter); J. Brent Cox, Texas (Pitcher)
April 19: Mike Costanzo, Coastal Carolina (Hitter); Adrian Alaniz, Texas (Pitcher)
April 26: Brandon Taylor, BYU (Hitter); Ricky Brooks, East Carolina (Pitcher)
May 3: Doug Beck, Utah (Hitter); Matt Maloney, Ole Miss (Pitcher)
May 10: J.R. Kyes, Illinois (Hitter); Brad Lincoln, Houston (Pitcher)
May 17: Justin Beam, Pacific (Hitter); Jeff Denlea, Hofstra (Pitcher)
May 24: Craig Cooper, Notre Dame and Adam Tucker, Birmingham-Southern (Hitter); Lance Broadway, TCU (Pitcher)

Related links:
Pro-Line Cap to sponsor NCBWA Players of the Week
Pro-Line Cap Player of the Week plaques

Pro-Line Athletic: The Choice of Champions.