National Collegiate Baseball Writers Feb. 15, 2005
For Immediate Release
Contact: Mike Montoro
Arkansas' Bridges and Tulane's Bogusevic are honored

DALLAS (NCBWA) The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association has released the Pro-Line Cap National Players of the Week for the period ending Feb. 13.

Pro-Line Cap: The Choice of Champions.

Arkansas senior second baseman Scott Bridges was named National Hitter of the Week, while Tulane junior LHP Brian Bogusevic was named National Pitcher of the Week. The NCBWA Board reviews candidates from each Division I Conference each week and names winners each Tuesday throughout the season.

Bridges batted .667 (6-for-9) with six runs scored, one doubles, a homer, five RBI, three walks and three stolen bases in leading the Razorbacks to two two-game sweeps of Dallas Baptist (13-3, 8-1) and Texas-Arlington (2-1, 4-1). The White Hall, Ark., native, finished with a 1.111 slugging percentage for the week and had a .769 on-base percentage. He hit the game-winning two-run home run in the first game of a doubleheader against UTA and doubled home the winning run in the 12th inning of the second game.

Bogusevic, a consensus preseason All-American opened the 2005 season in impressive fashion, throwing eight innings of shutout ball against Southeast Missouri. He struck out a career-high 13 batters and allowed just two hits and no walks to lead the Green Wave to a season-opening victory. After giving up a leadoff double in the second inning, Bogusevic retired the next 19 batters he faced, including 11 by strikeout.

With this week's honor, Bogusevic automatically is named to the watch list for Roger Clemens Award, given to the national collegiate pitcher of the year and sponsored by the Greater Houston Baseball Organization.

The Fort Worth-based Pro-Line Cap Co. supplies the official cap to more than 100 Division I college teams. This is the first season Pro-Line has sponsored the NCBWA's Players of the Week. The sponsorship provides for plaques to be awarded to each of the weekly winners and other promotional consideration. For more information about Pro-Line, visit their website at

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. For more information about the NCBWA, visit the association's official website,

2005 Pro-Line Cap Players of the Week:
Feb. 8: Grant Rembert, Elon (Hitter); Erik Averill, Arizona State (Pitcher)
Feb. 15: Scott Bridges, Arkansas (Hitter); Brian Bogusevic, Tulane (Pitcher)
Feb. 22: Drew Stubbs, Texas (Hitter); Taylor Fowler, Arkansas State (Pitcher)
March 1: Kurt Eichorn, Kent State (Hitter); Tyler Chambliss, Florida State (Pitcher)
March 8: Matt Wieters, Georgia Tech (Hitter); J.C. Biagi, Centenary (Pitcher)
March 15: Jeremy Slayden, Georgia Tech (Hitter); Lance Broadway, TCU and Gib Hobson, N.C. State (Pitcher)
March 22: Alex Gordon, Nebraska (Hitter); Luke Hochevar, Tennessee (Pitcher)
March 29: Josh Rodriguez, Rice (Hitter); Brent Gaphardt, Delaware (Pitcher)
April 5: Mike Baxter, Vanderbilt (Hitter); Max Scherzer, Missouri (Pitcher)
April 12: Dusty Bensko, Illinois (Hitter); J. Brent Cox, Texas (Pitcher)
April 19: Mike Costanzo, Coastal Carolina (Hitter); Adrian Alaniz, Texas (Pitcher)
April 26: Brandon Taylor, BYU (Hitter); Ricky Brooks, East Carolina (Pitcher)
May 3: Doug Beck, Utah (Hitter); Matt Maloney, Ole Miss (Pitcher)
May 10: J.R. Kyes, Illinois (Hitter); Brad Lincoln, Houston (Pitcher)
May 17: Justin Beam, Pacific (Hitter); Jeff Denlea, Hofstra (Pitcher)
May 24: Craig Cooper, Notre Dame and Adam Tucker, Birmingham-Southern (Hitter); Lance Broadway, TCU (Pitcher)

Related links:
Pro-Line Cap to sponsor NCBWA Players of the Week
Pro-Line Cap Player of the Week plaques

Pro-Line Athletic: The Choice of Champions.