National Collegiate Baseball Writers March 22, 2005
For Immediate Release
Contact: Mike Montoro
Nebraska's Gordon, Tennessee' Hochevar honored

DALLAS (NCBWA) The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) released the Pro-Line Cap National Player of the Week awards for the period ending March 20. Nebraska junior third baseman Alex Gordon was named National Hitter of the Week, while Tennessee junior RHP Luke Hochevar was named National Pitcher of the Week. The NCBWA Board reviews candidates from each Division I Conference each week and names winners each Tuesday throughout the season.

Pro-Line Cap: The Choice of Champions.

Gordon hit .560 (14-for-25) with four homers, 10 RBIs and 11 runs scored in leading the Huskers to a perfect 6-0 record. The Omaha, Neb., native, who currently leads the Big 12 with a .437 average, had six multi-hit games last week, including a 3-for-4 effort with two homers, five RBIs and four runs scored in a win against Northern Colorado on Tuesday.

Hochevar threw a complete-game one-hitter to lead the No. 25-ranked Volunteers to a 2-1 victory over Auburn. He retired 18 straight batters at one point and took a no-hitter into the ninth inning before surrendering a base hit to the Tigers. The Fowler, Colo., native's final line included one run on one hit with four walks and 11 strikeouts. The win improved his record to 5-1 this year, and he now boasts a season ERA of 1.47. He has thrown two complete games and has picked up victories in each of his last five outings.

With this week's honor, Hochevar automatically is named to the watch list for Roger Clemens Award, given to the national collegiate pitcher of the year, sponsored by the Greater Houston Baseball Organization.

The Fort Worth-based Pro-Line Cap Co. supplies the official cap to more than 100 Division I college teams. This is the first season Pro-Line has sponsored the NCBWA's Players of the Week. The sponsorship provides for plaques to be awarded to each of the weekly winners and other promotional consideration. For more information about Pro-Line, visit their website at

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. For more information about the NCBWA, visit the association's official website,

2005 Pro-Line Cap Players of the Week:
Feb. 8: Grant Rembert, Elon (Hitter); Erik Averill, Arizona State (Pitcher)
Feb. 15: Scott Bridges, Arkansas (Hitter); Brian Bogusevic, Tulane (Pitcher)
Feb. 22: Drew Stubbs, Texas (Hitter); Taylor Fowler, Arkansas State (Pitcher)
March 1: Kurt Eichorn, Kent State (Hitter); Tyler Chambliss, Florida State (Pitcher)
March 8: Matt Wieters, Georgia Tech (Hitter); J.C. Biagi, Centenary (Pitcher)
March 15: Jeremy Slayden, Georgia Tech (Hitter); Lance Broadway, TCU and Gib Hobson, N.C. State (Pitcher)
March 22: Alex Gordon, Nebraska (Hitter); Luke Hochevar, Tennessee (Pitcher)
March 29: Josh Rodriguez, Rice (Hitter); Brent Gaphardt, Delaware (Pitcher)
April 5: Mike Baxter, Vanderbilt (Hitter); Max Scherzer, Missouri (Pitcher)
April 12: Dusty Bensko, Illinois (Hitter); J. Brent Cox, Texas (Pitcher)
April 19: Mike Costanzo, Coastal Carolina (Hitter); Adrian Alaniz, Texas (Pitcher)
April 26: Brandon Taylor, BYU (Hitter); Ricky Brooks, East Carolina (Pitcher)
May 3: Doug Beck, Utah (Hitter); Matt Maloney, Ole Miss (Pitcher)
May 10: J.R. Kyes, Illinois (Hitter); Brad Lincoln, Houston (Pitcher)
May 17: Justin Beam, Pacific (Hitter); Jeff Denlea, Hofstra (Pitcher)
May 24: Craig Cooper, Notre Dame and Adam Tucker, Birmingham-Southern (Hitter); Lance Broadway, TCU (Pitcher)

Related links:
Pro-Line Cap to sponsor NCBWA Players of the Week
Pro-Line Cap Player of the Week plaques

Pro-Line Athletic: The Choice of Champions.