National Collegiate Baseball Writers April 12, 2005
For Immediate Release
Contact: Mike Montoro
Illinois' Bensko, Texas' Cox are honored

DALLAS (NCBWA) The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) released the Pro-Line Cap National Player of the Week awards for the period ending April 12, today. Illinois senior first baseman Dusty Bensko was named National Hitter of the Week, while Texas' junior relief pitcher J. Brent Cox was named National Pitcher of the Week. The NCBWA Board reviews candidates from each Division I Conference each week and names winners each Tuesday throughout the season.

Pro-Line Cap: The Choice of Champions.Bensko drove in an incredible 17 runs in six games last week as he batted .478 (11-of-23) and added nine runs scored. Pleasant Plains, Ill., native produced three home runs, two doubles and four walks to register a slugging percentage of .947 and an on-base percentage of .556. The Illinois-native collected nine RBI and four runs to lead his team to three victories in four road games at Michigan State as the Illini improved to 7-1 in Big Ten play to remain tied atop the league standings.

Cox did not earn any of the Horns three wins over the past week, but did make three impressive appearances out of the bullpen that resulted in nine scoreless innings of work and a pair of saves. After earning the save against Texas State on April 5 by working a perfect ninth-inning that included two strikeouts, Cox hurled six innings of shutout relief at No. 4 Nebraska on April 8 during a 16-inning contest in which he struck out five and came within one-third of an inning from matching his career-long for innings pitched.

From there, the Bay City, Texas native returned to the mound two days later, and tossed two one-hit innings against the Husker to preserve a 6-5 victory and a series triumph for the Horns. Notably, in his final appearance, Cox came in with two runners on and nobody out in the bottom of the seventh inning with UT clinging to a one-run lead and, after a sacrifice bunt and an intentional walk, he recorded a strikeout and a flyout to work out of the inning unscathed despite Nebraska having the bases loaded and one out.

With this week's honor, Cox automatically is named to the watch list for Roger Clemens Award, given to the national collegiate pitcher of the year, sponsored by the Greater Houston Baseball Organization.

The Fort Worth-based Pro-Line Cap Co. supplies the official cap to more than 100 Division I college teams. This is the first season Pro-Line has sponsored the NCBWA's Players of the Week. The sponsorship provides for plaques to be awarded to each of the weekly winners and other promotional consideration. For more information about Pro-Line, visit their website at

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. For more information about the NCBWA, visit the association's official website,

2005 Pro-Line Cap Players of the Week:
Feb. 8: Grant Rembert, Elon (Hitter); Erik Averill, Arizona State (Pitcher)
Feb. 15: Scott Bridges, Arkansas (Hitter); Brian Bogusevic, Tulane (Pitcher)
Feb. 22: Drew Stubbs, Texas (Hitter); Taylor Fowler, Arkansas State (Pitcher)
March 1: Kurt Eichorn, Kent State (Hitter); Tyler Chambliss, Florida State (Pitcher)
March 8: Matt Wieters, Georgia Tech (Hitter); J.C. Biagi, Centenary (Pitcher)
March 15: Jeremy Slayden, Georgia Tech (Hitter); Lance Broadway, TCU and Gib Hobson, N.C. State (Pitcher)
March 22: Alex Gordon, Nebraska (Hitter); Luke Hochevar, Tennessee (Pitcher)
March 29: Josh Rodriguez, Rice (Hitter); Brent Gaphardt, Delaware (Pitcher)
April 5: Mike Baxter, Vanderbilt (Hitter); Max Scherzer, Missouri (Pitcher)
April 12: Dusty Bensko, Illinois (Hitter); J. Brent Cox, Texas (Pitcher)
April 19: Mike Costanzo, Coastal Carolina (Hitter); Adrian Alaniz, Texas (Pitcher)
April 26: Brandon Taylor, BYU (Hitter); Ricky Brooks, East Carolina (Pitcher)
May 3: Doug Beck, Utah (Hitter); Matt Maloney, Ole Miss (Pitcher)
May 10: J.R. Kyes, Illinois (Hitter); Brad Lincoln, Houston (Pitcher)
May 17: Justin Beam, Pacific (Hitter); Jeff Denlea, Hofstra (Pitcher)
May 24: Craig Cooper, Notre Dame and Adam Tucker, Birmingham-Southern (Hitter); Lance Broadway, TCU (Pitcher)

Related links:
Pro-Line Cap to sponsor NCBWA Players of the Week
Pro-Line Cap Player of the Week plaques

Pro-Line Athletic: The Choice of Champions.