May 9, 2006
For Immediate Release
Contact: Mike Montoro
ORU righty fires 7th no-hitter in school history

DALLAS (NCBWA) The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association released the Pro-Line Cap National Player of the Week awards for the period ending May 9, today.

Pro-Line Cap: The Choice of Champions.Winthrop senior outfielder Jacob Dempsey was named National Hitter of the Week, while Oral Roberts' senior right-handed pitcher Nick Jones was named National Pitcher of the Week. The NCBWA Board reviews candidates from each Division I Conference each week and names winners each Tuesday throughout the season.

Dempsey hit .588 (10-17) in four games last week with four doubles, two home runs and 13 RBI to lead the nationally-ranked Winthrop Eagles to a 4-0 week, including a three-game sweep over Charleston Southern to reclaim first-place in the Big South standings. The Chesapeake, Va., native turned in three multi-hit games, including a season-best 4-for-5, six RBI performance in Friday's 23-6 win at CSU. He hit a three-run homer and notched two doubles in that game, and his six runs batted in were the most driven by an Eagle batter this season. Dempsey drove in five runs in Sunday's come-from-behind win, including a grand slam, to give Winthrop the lead for good. He added three hits (two doubles) and two RBI in a mid-week tilt against The Citadel, and finished the week with nine runs scored, three walks, a stolen base and a 1.176 slugging percentage.

Jones, a native of Broken Arrow, Okla., fired the seventh no-hitter in school history, shutting down Mid-Continent Conference rival Chicago State. The senior fanned nine batters and walked just one in a complete game effort in ORU's 9-0 win Sunday. Jones faced the minimum 21 batters and threw just 79 pitches. He is now 3-0 in conference play with a 0.89 earned run average.

With this week's honor, Jones automatically is named to the watch list for Roger Clemens Award, given to the national collegiate pitcher of the year, sponsored by the Greater Houston Baseball Organization.

The Fort Worth-based Pro-Line Cap Co. supplies the official cap to more than 100 Division I college teams. This is the second season Pro-Line has sponsored the NCBWA's Players of the Week. The sponsorship provides for plaques to be awarded to each of the weekly winners and other promotional consideration. For more information about Pro-Line, visit their Web site at www.prolinecap.com.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. For more information about the NCBWA, visit the association's official Web site, www.ncbwa.com.

For more information on the Pro-Line Cap Players of the Week, contact Mike Montoro at the University of Southern Mississippi at 601-266-5947.

2006 Pro-Line Cap Players of the Week:
Feb. 14: Aaron Luna, Rice (Hitter); Nick Schmidt, Arkansas (Pitcher)
Feb. 21: Chris Swauger, The Citadel (Hitter); Barry Enright, Pepperdine and Brad Furnish, TCU (Pitcher)
Feb. 28: Kyle Russell, Texas (Hitter); Rodney Brantley, Dallas Baptist (Pitcher)
March 7: Luke Hopkins, New Mexico State (Hitter); Joba Chamberlain, Nebraska (Pitcher)
March 14: Chris Gradoville, Creighton (Hitter); David Price, Vanderbilt (Pitcher)
March 21: Kellen Kulbacki, James Madison (Hitter); Daniel Best, Southern Miss and Miles Morgan, Texas Tech (Pitcher)
March 28: Trey McDaniel, Western Carolina (Hitter); Christian Friedrich, Eastern Kentucky (Pitcher)
April 4: Andy D'Alessio, Clemson (Hitter); Tim Lincecum, Washington (Pitcher)
April 11: Reid Fronk, North Carolina (Hitter); Adam Ottavino, Northeastern (Pitcher)
April 18: Pedro Alvarez, Vanderbilt (Hitter); Mike Ballard, Virginia (Pitcher)
April 25: Case Cassedy, Furman (Hitter); Brooks Brown, Georgia (Pitcher)
May 2: Emeel Salem, Alabama (Hitter); Bobby Blevins, LeMoyne (Pitcher)
May 9: Jacob Dempsey, Winthrop (Hitter); Nick Jones, Oral Roberts (Pitcher)
May 16: Josh Dew, Troy (Hitter); Brad Lincoln, Houston (Pitcher)

Related links:
Pro-Line Cap Player of the Week plaques