Feb. 28, 2006
For Immediate Release
Contact: Mike Montoro
Dallas Baptist's Brantley fires no-hitter to earn Pitcher of the Week

DALLAS (NCBWA) The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association released the Pro-Line Cap National Player of the Week awards for the period ending Feb. 28, today.

Pro-Line Cap: The Choice of Champions.Texas freshman outfielder Kyle Russell was named National Hitter of the Week, while Dallas Baptist junior right-handed pitcher Rodney Brantley was named National Pitcher of the Week. The NCBWA Board reviews candidates from each Division I Conference each week and names winners each Tuesday throughout the season.

Russell batted .643 with a 9-for-14 week against Stanford, Texas State and Villanova. He drove in nine runs during that span with 15 total bases and a 1.071 slugging percentage. He hit safely in each of those contests to start a five-game hitting streak and had three multi-hit outings. Russell scored a season-best three runs vs. Villanova, and four of his nine hits went for extra bases (two doubles, two triples). He also batted .700 and .667 with runners on base and in scoring position, respectively, during the week.

Brantley had a impressive week as he hurled a no-hitter in Dallas Baptist's 9-1 win over Texas-Arlington. He only threw 98 pitches in the nine-inning game, struck out seven and walked only one. He induced 19 ground ball outs and one fly out. Earlier in the week, he pitched six innings against Stephen F. Austin, allowing one hit and striking out four, giving up two walks and no runs. In over 15 innings pitched last week, he allowed one hit with 11 strikeouts.

With this week's honor, Brantley automatically is named to the watch list for Roger Clemens Award, given to the national collegiate pitcher of the year, sponsored by the Greater Houston Baseball Organization.

The Fort Worth-based Pro-Line Cap Co. supplies the official cap to more than 100 Division I college teams. This is the second season Pro-Line has sponsored the NCBWA's Players of the Week. The sponsorship provides for plaques to be awarded to each of the weekly winners and other promotional consideration. For more information about Pro-Line, visit their Web site at www.prolinecap.com.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. For more information about the NCBWA, visit the association's official Web site, www.ncbwa.com.

For more information on the Pro-Line Cap Players of the Week, contact Mike Montoro at the University of Southern Mississippi at 601-266-5947.

2006 Pro-Line Cap Players of the Week:
Feb. 14: Aaron Luna, Rice (Hitter); Nick Schmidt, Arkansas (Pitcher)
Feb. 21: Chris Swauger, The Citadel (Hitter); Barry Enright, Pepperdine and Brad Furnish, TCU (Pitcher)
Feb. 28: Kyle Russell, Texas (Hitter); Rodney Brantley, Dallas Baptist (Pitcher)
March 7: Luke Hopkins, New Mexico State (Hitter); Joba Chamberlain, Nebraska (Pitcher)
March 14: Chris Gradoville, Creighton (Hitter); David Price, Vanderbilt (Pitcher)
March 21: Kellen Kulbacki, James Madison (Hitter); Daniel Best, Southern Miss and Miles Morgan, Texas Tech (Pitcher)
March 28: Trey McDaniel, Western Carolina (Hitter); Christian Friedrich, Eastern Kentucky (Pitcher)
April 4: Andy D'Alessio, Clemson (Hitter); Tim Lincecum, Washington (Pitcher)
April 11: Reid Fronk, North Carolina (Hitter); Adam Ottavino, Northeastern (Pitcher)
April 18: Pedro Alvarez, Vanderbilt (Hitter); Mike Ballard, Virginia (Pitcher)
April 25: Case Cassedy, Furman (Hitter); Brooks Brown, Georgia (Pitcher)
May 2: Emeel Salem, Alabama (Hitter); Bobby Blevins, LeMoyne (Pitcher)
May 9: Jacob Dempsey, Winthrop (Hitter); Nick Jones, Oral Roberts (Pitcher)
May 16: Josh Dew, Troy (Hitter); Brad Lincoln, Houston (Pitcher)

Related links:
Pro-Line Cap Player of the Week plaques