March 21, 2006
For Immediate Release
Contact: Mike Montoro
Three players are honored by Baseball Writers this week

DALLAS (NCBWA) The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association released the Pro-Line Cap National Player of the Week awards for the period ending March 21, today.

James Madison sophomore centerfielder Kellen Kulbacki was named National Hitter of the Week, while Southern Miss senior right-handed closer Daniel Best and Texas Tech redshirt freshman right-hander Miles Morgan were named National Co-Pitchers of the Week. The NCBWA Board reviews candidates from each Division I Conference each week and names winners each Tuesday throughout the season.

Pro-Line Cap: The Choice of Champions.

In five games last week, Kulbacki was 14-for-19 (.737) with two doubles, four homers and 12 RBIs while walking once and being hit twice. He had four hits in three of the five games. He was hit in the head by a pitch in his first at bat in game two of the Delaware series after going 4-for-4 with two homers and five RBIs in the opener and ended up going 1- for-4, but the one hit drove in the game-winner in the bottom of the ninth, 6-5. He has only two at bats in the second game vs. VT and went 1-of-2 before leaving the game. The Hershey, Pa., native leads the Colonial Athletic Association in batting average, RBIs (39), homers (11), slugging percentage (1.107), on-base percentage (.604), total bases (83) and hit by pitch (10).

Best, a Ruston, La., native and the Southern Miss closer, pitched in all four of the Golden Eagles' games last week, earning a win and a save. In seven innings pitched, he allowed just one unearned run on three hits, striking out 10 and walking none. He earned the win on Saturday vs. Troy, retiring 12 consecutive batters, including seven via the strikeout.

Morgan, a Lubbock native, turned in one of the best pitching performances by a Red Raider in school history in Saturday's 2-1 win over Texas. The redshirt freshman dominated the then 16th-ranked Longhorns by turning in his first career complete game that included 15 strikeouts and no walks. Morgan became the first Tech pitcher to throw a complete game this season and in the process he set a new Tech record for the most strikeouts in a Big 12 game.

Over nine innings of work, Morgan allowed just one run and scattered four hits en route to his fourth win of the season. His 15 strikeouts pushed his season total to 60 and that currently leads all Big 12 pitchers so far this season. The 15 strikeouts were the most by a Tech pitcher since Monty Ward struckout 18 against Lindenwood in 1998 and the most thrown against at Texas team since Baylor struckout 16 Longhorn hitters on April 9, 1999.

With this week's honor, Best and Morgan automatically are named to the watch list for Roger Clemens Award, given to the national collegiate pitcher of the year, sponsored by the Greater Houston Baseball Organization.

The Fort Worth-based Pro-Line Cap Co. supplies the official cap to more than 100 Division I college teams. This is the second season Pro-Line has sponsored the NCBWA's Players of the Week. The sponsorship provides for plaques to be awarded to each of the weekly winners and other promotional consideration. For more information about Pro-Line, visit their Web site at

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. For more information about the NCBWA, visit the association's official Web site,

For more information on the Pro-Line Cap Players of the Week, contact Mike Montoro at the University of Southern Mississippi at 601-266-5947.

2006 Pro-Line Cap Players of the Week:
Feb. 14: Aaron Luna, Rice (Hitter); Nick Schmidt, Arkansas (Pitcher)
Feb. 21: Chris Swauger, The Citadel (Hitter); Barry Enright, Pepperdine and Brad Furnish, TCU (Pitcher)
Feb. 28: Kyle Russell, Texas (Hitter); Rodney Brantley, Dallas Baptist (Pitcher)
March 7: Luke Hopkins, New Mexico State (Hitter); Joba Chamberlain, Nebraska (Pitcher)
March 14: Chris Gradoville, Creighton (Hitter); David Price, Vanderbilt (Pitcher)
March 21: Kellen Kulbacki, James Madison (Hitter); Daniel Best, Southern Miss and Miles Morgan, Texas Tech (Pitcher)
March 28: Trey McDaniel, Western Carolina (Hitter); Christian Friedrich, Eastern Kentucky (Pitcher)
April 4: Andy D'Alessio, Clemson (Hitter); Tim Lincecum, Washington (Pitcher)
April 11: Reid Fronk, North Carolina (Hitter); Adam Ottavino, Northeastern (Pitcher)
April 18: Pedro Alvarez, Vanderbilt (Hitter); Mike Ballard, Virginia (Pitcher)
April 25: Case Cassedy, Furman (Hitter); Brooks Brown, Georgia (Pitcher)
May 2: Emeel Salem, Alabama (Hitter); Bobby Blevins, LeMoyne (Pitcher)
May 9: Jacob Dempsey, Winthrop (Hitter); Nick Jones, Oral Roberts (Pitcher)
May 16: Josh Dew, Troy (Hitter); Brad Lincoln, Houston (Pitcher)

Related links:
Pro-Line Cap Player of the Week plaques