NCBWA announces 2022 Freshman All-America Team

Drew Beam was 8-1 with a 2.72 ERA for the Vols in his first season on campus.
Drew Beam was 8-1 with a 2.72 ERA for the Vols in his first season on campus.

DALLAS (NCBWA) – A total of 34 standout freshmen college baseball players from every part of the country are featured on the 2022 National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) Freshman All-America Team, the organization announced today. 

The 2022 NCBWA Freshman All-America Team features players from 29 different schools and 13 different conferences. 

The two All-America teams are also made up of nine conference Rookie of the Year winners. In addition, 19 all-conference honorees appear on the team. The teams also include one conference Freshman Pitcher of the Year and one conference Relief Pitcher of the Year.

Oregon State (1 first team, 1 second team), Tennessee (2 first team), Virginia Tech (2 first team), UCLA (1 first team, 1 second team) and Indiana (2 second team) were tied for the lead with two Freshman All-America honorees each. The ACC led all conferences with eight players selected to the two teams, placing six players on the first team and two on the second team. The Pac-12 (3 1st team, 3 2nd team) put six players on the team, while the SEC (3 1st team, 2 2nd team) had five honorees.

The Freshman All-America team is voted upon by the membership of the NCBWA. The 2022 NCBWA National Freshman Player of the Year and National Freshman Pitcher of the Year will be announced on Tuesday, June 14.

Pos.First TeamSchool
CRyan CamposArizona State
1BNick KurtzWake Forest
2BTravis BazzanaOregon State
3BCarson DeMartiniVirginia Tech
SSGriff O’FerrallVirginia
OFKeaton AnthonyIowa
OFVance HoneycuttNorth Carolina
OFTreyson HughesMercer
DHTommy WhiteNC State
UTNoah SullivanUSC Upstate
SPChase BurnsTennessee
SPDrew BeamTennessee
SPDrue HackenbergVirginia Tech
SPBlake MorganOld Dominion
RPAlonzo TredwellUCLA
RPBrady TygartArkansas
RPLandon KruerNavy
Second Team: C Walker Janek, Sam Houston State; 1B Donovan Cash, Kennesaw State; 2B Logan Beard, Louisville; 3B Josh Pyne, Indiana; SS Cody Schrier, UCLA; OF Carter Mathison, Indiana; OF Kennedy Jones, UNCG; OF Harrison Povey, FGCU; DH Hunter Hines, Mississippi State; UT Braden Montgomery, Stanford; SP Ryan Feczko, Davidson; SP Garrett Horn, Liberty; SP Ryan Gallagher, UCSB; SP Carter Holton, Vanderbilt; RP Ryan Brown, Oregon State; RP Peyton Consigli, Canisius; RP Conner Whittaker, Florida State.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. For more information about the NCBWA, visit the association's official Web site,