FWAA Pittsburgh News

FWAA recognizes Super 11 from 2022 season

Two first-time winners and nine previous ones comprise the 14th Super 11 Awards, which the Football Writers Association of America give out annually to the best performing College Sports Communicators departments in the Football Bowl Subdivision. The awards announced this week are for the 2022 season.

FWAA, Goodyear Cotton Bowl unveil 2022 All-America Team

The 2022 Football Writers Association of America All-America Team, presented in partnership with the Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic, is headlined by nine first-teamers from the four teams competing in the College Football Playoff, three repeat All-Americans and a record 16 total selections from the Big Ten Conference. There are 19 schools represented from six Football Bowl Subdivision conferences on the first team and 34 different schools and eight conferences plus an Independent included on the overall 54-man team.

Three finalists named for 2022 Outland Trophy

OMAHA (FWAA) – A center on the nation’s fifth-best rushing offense and national title contender, the highest-graded offensive tackle throughout the season and one of the nation’s top pass rushing threats are the three finalists for the 2022 Outland Trophy by the Football Writers Association of America. Calijah Kancey of Pitt, a defensive tackle with 14.0 tackles for loss and 7.0 sacks; Olusegun Oluwatimi, a center who has helped guide Michigan to consecutive Big Ten East division titles, and Northwestern offensive tackle Peter Skoronski, a perennial Big Ten stalwart and pro scout favorite, are this season’s superior linemen.

Seven semifinalists named for 2022 Outland Trophy

Seven semifinalists for the 77th Outland Trophy – five offensive linemen and two defensive tackles – were announced Wednesday by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee. The seven come from different schools within four separate conferences – the Big Ten has four of the seven – and represent all four positions eligible for the award.

Four finalists named for 2022 Bronko Nagurski Trophy

Four finalists for the 2022 Bronko Nagurski Trophy, one of them last year’s winner, another representing the top team in the current College Football Playoff rankings and two of the nation’s premier defensive linemen were named Wednesday by the Football Writers Association of America and the Charlotte Touchdown Club as candidates for the award honoring the nation’s top defensive player. One finalist’s team has already clinched a spot in his conference championship game and another can clinch a spot with a win on Saturday. 

Pitt's Green to be honored with 2022 Bronko Nagurski Legends Award

Pitt's Hugh Green, a two-time member of the FWAA All-America Team, has been named the 2022 recipient of the Bronko Nagurski Legends Award and will be honored at the Bronko Nagurski Awards Banquet presented by Lending Tree on Dec. 5 at the Charlotte Convention Center.