April 15, 2015
For Immediate Release
Contact: Robin Johnson
IUP's Uhl, Indianapolis' Tackett honored
Bookmark and Share

DALLAS (NCBWA) The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association released its ninth weekly NCAA Division II National Players of the Week awards of the 2015 season for the week ending on April 12. Indiana (Pa.) senior first baseman Ryan Uhl is the National Hitter of the Week while University of Indianapolis' sophomore pitcher Jordan Tackett is the National Pitcher of the Week.

Uhl (St. Mary's, Pa.) hit .556 with a .704 on-base percentage and 1.722 slugging percentage, going 10-for-18 with nine walks, seven home runs, 18 RBIs and 10 runs. He hit four home runs in Sunday's doubleheader vs. UPJ and tied the game at 3-3 with two outs in bottom of 7th of game 1 with solo home. He hit two three-run homers in the 1st inning of game 2 and walked in the 3rd inning and hit a solo home run in 5th (four home runs in five plate appearances). He was intentionally walked in his last two plate appearances, once with IUP leading 14-12 with bases loaded in 6th inning. He has 19 home runs in 30 games (102 at-bats).

Tackett (Indianapolis, Ind.) threw a seven-inning no-hitter in the Greyhounds' 5-0 win against McKendree on Saturday. The stellar outing marked the first UIndy no-no since Phil Wheeler completed the feat in the 2012 GLVC Tournament semifinals, and third in the last 20 seasons (Jim Crowell, 1995). Tackett, now 3-3 on the year, fanned six batters and walked only two, facing just one batter above the minimum. The Indianapolis, Indiana, native sat down 11 consecutive batters during one stretch, and needed only 73 pitches to dispatch the visitors.

Division II Regional Players of the Week:
• Atlantic: Atlantic: Ryan Uhl, Indiana (Pa.) (Hitter); Kyle Schneider, Slippery Rock (Pitcher)
Central: Max Waletich, Minnesota State University (Hitter); Reese Gregory, St. Cloud State (Pitcher)
East: Josh Swirchak, Wilmington (Del.) University (Hitter); Jason Harper, Southern Conn. State University (Pitcher)
Midwest: Kory Wisdom, Quincy (Hitter); Jordan Tackett, Indianapolis (Pitcher)
South: Roche Woodard, Nova Southeastern University (Hitter); Brandon Nagem, University of West Florida (Pitcher)
South Central: Josh Day, West Texas A&M (Hitter); Ryan Scott, Texas A&M-Kingsville (Pitcher)
Southeast: Collins Cuthrell, UNC Pembroke (Hitter); Mike O'Reilly, Flagler (Pitcher)
West: Brody Miller, Montana State-Billings (Hitter); Justin Donatella, UC San Diego (Pitcher)

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Howser Award Player of the Year, Regional Player of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors preseason All-America awards, publication and writing contests.

2015 NCBWA Division II Players of the Week:
Feb. 15: Jake Kennedy, Shippensburg (Hitter); Aaron Cox, Gannon (Pitcher)
Feb. 22: Luke Reinschmidt, Montana State-Billings (Hitter); Steve Naemark, Angelo State (Pitcher)
March 8: Jordan Brower, Azusa Pacific (Hitter); Mike Lundin, Franklin Pierce (Pitcher)
March 15: Will Albertson, Catawba (Hitter); Landon Simpson, Southern Arkansas (Pitcher)
March 22: Chris Miller, Seton Hill (Hitter); Ryan Luna, Sonoma State (Pitcher)
March 29: Austin Wallingford, Colorado Mesa (Hitter); Sean Goostree, Missouri Southern (Pitcher)
April 5: Will Albertson, Catawba (Hitter); John Conquy, Dixie State (Pitcher)
April 12: Ryan Uhl, Indiana, Pa. (Hitter); Jordan Tackett, Indianapolis (Pitcher)
April 19: Mike Montville, Southern New Hampshire (Hitter); Mitchell Stalsberg, Winona State (Pitcher)
April 26: Ryan Uhl, Indiana, Pa. (Hitter); Randy Dobnak, Alderson Broaddus (Pitcher)
May 3: Zak DeCamp, Lake Erie (Hitter); Kyle Wilson, Missouri-St. Louis (Pitcher)