April 8, 2015
For Immediate Release
Contact: Robin Johnson
Catawba's Albertson, Dixie State's Conquy honored
Bookmark and Share

DALLAS (NCBWA) The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association released its eighth weekly NCAA Division II National Players of the Week awards of the 2015 season for the week ending on April 5. Catawba's senior catcher/outfielder Will Albertson is the National Hitter of the Week while Dixie State's senior righty John Conquy is the National Pitcher of the Week.

Albertson (Sophia, N.C.) batted .524 with 11 hits, 16 RBI, six home runs and three doubles to lead the Catawba Indians to a 3-2 record last week. He posted a pair of multiple home run games and highlighted his week with four hits, a double, eight RBI and a pair of long balls in a 19-1 win over Winston-Salem State on April 1. He posted a hit in every game he played, including three multiple hit contests. Albertson notched nine extra-base hits to finish the five-game span with a slugging percentage of 1.524.

Conquy (Las Vegas, Nev.) pitched his way into the record books, throwing the first Division II no-hitter in Dixie State history against Fresno Pacific. Conquy struck out four and walked just two in seven innings for his fourth consecutive win. It was the first Dixie State no-hitter since 2005.

Division II Regional Players of the Week:
• Atlantic: Nick Sell, Seton Hill (Hitter); Gabe Mosser, Shippensburg (Pitcher)
• Central: Jacob Greco, Upper Iowa (Hitter); Bo Hellquist, Minnesota Duluth (Pitcher)
• East: Chris Starcun, American International (Hitter); Anthony Alicki, University of Bridgeport (Pitcher)
• Midwest: Hunter Newman, Trevecca Nazarene (Hitter); Matt Pobereyko, Kentucky Wesleyan (Pitcher)
• South: Ethan Gill, Delta State (Hitter); Jorge Cruz, University of West Alabama (Pitcher)
• South Central: Zach Moldenhauer, Adams State (Hitter); Tyler Gibson, West Texas A&M (Pitcher)
• Southeast: Will Albertson, Catawba (Hitter); Carson Bryant, Carson-Newman (Pitcher)
• West: Ryan Garcia, Point Loma (Hitter); John Conquy, Dixie State (Pitcher)

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Howser Award Player of the Year, Regional Player of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors preseason All-America awards, publication and writing contests.

2015 NCBWA Division II Players of the Week:
Feb. 15: Jake Kennedy, Shippensburg (Hitter); Aaron Cox, Gannon (Pitcher)
Feb. 22: Luke Reinschmidt, Montana State-Billings (Hitter); Steve Naemark, Angelo State (Pitcher)
March 8: Jordan Brower, Azusa Pacific (Hitter); Mike Lundin, Franklin Pierce (Pitcher)
March 15: Will Albertson, Catawba (Hitter); Landon Simpson, Southern Arkansas (Pitcher)
March 22: Chris Miller, Seton Hill (Hitter); Ryan Luna, Sonoma State (Pitcher)
March 29: Austin Wallingford, Colorado Mesa (Hitter); Sean Goostree, Missouri Southern (Pitcher)
April 5: Will Albertson, Catawba (Hitter); John Conquy, Dixie State (Pitcher)
April 12: Ryan Uhl, Indiana, Pa. (Hitter); Jordan Tackett, Indianapolis (Pitcher)
April 19: Mike Montville, Southern New Hampshire (Hitter); Mitchell Stalsberg, Winona State (Pitcher)
April 26: Ryan Uhl, Indiana, Pa. (Hitter); Randy Dobnak, Alderson Broaddus (Pitcher)
May 3: Zak DeCamp, Lake Erie (Hitter); Kyle Wilson, Missouri-St. Louis (Pitcher)