March 25, 2015
For Immediate Release
Contact: Robin Johnson
Seton Hill's Miller, Sonoma State's Luna honored
Bookmark and Share

DALLAS (NCBWA) – The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association released its sixth weekly NCAA Division II National Players of the Week awards of the 2015 season for the week ending on March 22. Seton Hill’s junior catcher/first baseman Chris Miller is the National Hitter of the Week while Sonoma State junior righty Ryan Luna is the National Pitcher of the Week.

Miller (White Oak, Pa.) led the Griffins to a 6-0 week including a sweep of Pitt-Johnstown and hit .737 (14-for-19) in 5 games played that included five doubles, one triple and four home runs for 14 RBIs with 10 runs scored. He recorded a1.737 slugging percentage and hit for the cycle in the Griffins 23-10 win at UPJ, going 4-for-6 with six RBIs in the win. In his five games, he had two or more hits in each contest and had multiple RBIs in three games.

Luna (Corcoran, Calif.) tossed a complete-game no-hitter on Friday against Cal State Stanislaus, leading the Seawolves to a 7-0 victory in game two of the four-game series. Luna allowed just two walks accounting for the only two Warrior base runners in the game while striking out a career-high nine batters. It was the first no-hitter for Sonoma State since Apr. 30, 2005. In three games, Bidwell has a 1-0 record with a 2.03 ERA in 13.1 innings of work, with nine strikeouts and just two walks. He's allowed just nine hits this spring and the opposition is batting .188 against him.

Division II Regional Players of the Week:
• Atlantic: Chris Miller, Seton Hill (Hitter); Chris Murphy, MIllersville (Pitcher)
• Central: Dillon Schroeder, Nebraska-Kearney (Hitter); Jon Chidester, Southwestern Oklahoma State (Pitcher)
• East: Matt Walsh, Franklin Pierce (Hitter); Kyle DeMeo, Dowling College (Pitcher)
• Midwest: David Jacob, Quincy (Hitter); Matt Poberekyo, Kentucky Wesleyan (Pitcher)
• South: Jacob Swiney, Delta State (Hitter); Roberto Baroniel, Nova Southeastern (Pitcher)
• South Central: Dillon Bollig, Adams State (Hitter); Devin Hampton, University of Arkansas-Fort Smith (Pitcher)
• Southeast: Will Albertson, Catawba (Hitter); Tyler Graham, Armstrong State (Pitcher)
• West: Carl Svanevik, Saint Martin’s (Hitter); Ryan Luna, Sonoma State (Pitcher)

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Howser Award Player of the Year, Regional Player of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors preseason All-America awards, publication and writing contests.

2015 NCBWA Division II Players of the Week:
• Feb. 15: Jake Kennedy, Shippensburg (Hitter); Aaron Cox, Gannon (Pitcher)
• Feb. 22: Luke Reinschmidt, Montana State-Billings (Hitter); Steve Naemark, Angelo State (Pitcher)
• March 8: Jordan Brower, Azusa Pacific (Hitter); Mike Lundin, Franklin Pierce (Pitcher)
• March 15: Will Albertson, Catawba (Hitter); Landon Simpson, Southern Arkansas (Pitcher)
• March 22: Chris Miller, Seton Hill (Hitter); Ryan Luna, Sonoma State (Pitcher)
• March 29: Austin Wallingford, Colorado Mesa (Hitter); Sean Goostree, Missouri Southern (Pitcher)
• April 5: Will Albertson, Catawba (Hitter); John Conquy, Dixie State (Pitcher)
• April 12: Ryan Uhl, Indiana, Pa. (Hitter); Jordan Tackett, Indianapolis (Pitcher)
• April 19: Mike Montville, Southern New Hampshire (Hitter); Mitchell Stalsberg, Winona State (Pitcher)
• April 26: Ryan Uhl, Indiana, Pa. (Hitter); Randy Dobnak, Alderson Broaddus (Pitcher)
• May 3: Zak DeCamp, Lake Erie (Hitter); Kyle Wilson, Missouri-St. Louis (Pitcher)