Feb. 25, 2015
For Immediate Release
Contact: Robin Johnson
MSU-Billings' Reinschmidt, Angelo State's Naemark honored
Bookmark and Share

DALLAS (NCBWA) – The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association released its weekly NCAA Division II National Players of the Week awards of the 2015 season for the week ending on Feb. 22. MSU-Billings junior outfielder Luke Reinschmidt is the National Hitter of the Week while Angelo State’s junior lefty Steve Naemark is the National Pitcher of the Week.

Reinschmidt (Billings, Mont.) had 12 hits – including four home runs – to lead the Yellowjackets of Montana State Billings during a trip to St. George, Utah for non-conference play. He added three doubles and a triple to his four long balls, totaling 29 bases and a slugging percentage of .879 on the week. He also drove in a team-high 13 RBI and scored nine times, while posting an on-base percentage of .447. Reinschmidt was a catalyst for MSUB outscoring Minot State 22-7 over a two-game span.

Naemark (Tucson, Ariz.) established a new Angelo State record by striking out 15 in a win over Regis last Saturday for the Rams who improved to 10-1 on the season with a three-game sweep last weekend. Named Louisville Slugger National Pitcher of the Week by Collegiate Baseball. Naemark, who threw 77 of his 109 pitches for strikes, held the Rangers to three hits and a .130 batting average in his second win of the season and now has a 1.12 ERA and 38 strikeouts through 24 innings pitched this season. Naemark (2-0) has 27 strikeouts in his last two starts for the Rams and has allowed only 13 hits and three walks this season. A junior left-hander, he has also limited the opponents to only three earned runs. His 15 strikeouts against Regis followed a 12-strikeout performance against Lubbock Christian and an eight-strikeout outing against Texas A&M International. He was only four strikeouts shy of Texas A&M-Kingsville's Garrett Murdy for the LSC record of 19 strikeouts in a game. Murdy accompli  

Division II Regional Players of the Week:
• Atlantic: Pat McCarthy, Seton Hill (Hitter); Jim McDade, Millersville (Pitcher)
• Central: David Ganutt, Washburn (Hitter); Cam McKay, East Central (Pitcher)
• East: Matt Burns, Southern Connecticut State (Hitter); Cole Warren, Southern New Hampshire (Pitcher)
• Midwest: Luke Tewes, Drury (Hitter); Luke Burnidge , Drury (Pitcher)
• South: Kevin Cruz, Valdosta State (Hitter); Daniel Koger, University of Alabama (Pitcher)
• South Central: Jordan Godman, CSU-Pueblo (Hitter); Steve Naemark, Angelo State (Pitcher)
• Southeast: Albert Baur, Newberry and Bradley Brown, Wingate (Hitter); Danny Brown, Flagler (Pitcher)
• West: Luke Reinschmidt, MSU-Billings (Hitter); Luke Barker, Chico State (Pitcher)

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Howser Award Player of the Year, Regional Player of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors preseason All-America awards, publication and writing contests.

2015 NCBWA Division II Players of the Week:
• Feb. 15: Jake Kennedy, Shippensburg (Hitter); Aaron Cox, Gannon (Pitcher)
• Feb. 22: Luke Reinschmidt, Montana State-Billings (Hitter); Steve Naemark, Angelo State (Pitcher)
• March 8: Jordan Brower, Azusa Pacific (Hitter); Mike Lundin, Franklin Pierce (Pitcher)
• March 15: Will Albertson, Catawba (Hitter); Landon Simpson, Southern Arkansas (Pitcher)
• March 22: Chris Miller, Seton Hill (Hitter); Ryan Luna, Sonoma State (Pitcher)
• March 29: Austin Wallingford, Colorado Mesa (Hitter); Sean Goostree, Missouri Southern (Pitcher)
• April 5: Will Albertson, Catawba (Hitter); John Conquy, Dixie State (Pitcher)
• April 12: Ryan Uhl, Indiana, Pa. (Hitter); Jordan Tackett, Indianapolis (Pitcher)
• April 19: Mike Montville, Southern New Hampshire (Hitter); Mitchell Stalsberg, Winona State (Pitcher)
• April 26: Ryan Uhl, Indiana, Pa. (Hitter); Randy Dobnak, Alderson Broaddus (Pitcher)
• May 3: Zak DeCamp, Lake Erie (Hitter); Kyle Wilson, Missouri-St. Louis (Pitcher)