Tennessee (53-11) tops NCBWA Division I Poll

DALLAS (NCBWA) – The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association continues its tradition of NCAA Division I polls for the 27th year with its 2024 weekly surveys.

No. 1 NCAA Championship seed Tennessee is No. 1 in the survey for the fifth week in succession while Kentucky, Texas A&M and North Carolina remain Nos. 2-4 ahead of No. 5 Clemson as 16 teams compete for eight spots at the NCAA World Series June 14-22/23 at Charles Schwab Park in Omaha, Neb. All 16 NCAA Super Regional competitors are in this week’s Top 25.

Some of the big movers from Week 15 to Week 16 were NC State No. 15 to 10 and Oregon, West Virginia, Florida, Connecticut, Kansas State, and Evansville from receiving votes to Nos. 11-16, respectively, among others.

There have been 13 conferences (eight this week) represented in the first 16 standings of 2024, and there were 15 different conferences in the 2023 NCBWA polls.

This is the next-to-last NCBWA Division I Top 25 poll until after completion of the ’24 NCAA World Series.

The 2024 poll voters come from among 33 college baseball writers and related media persons from throughout the nation. The ’24 season features 305 NCAA Division I baseball-playing schools, and for more information or to join the NCBWA, please go to www.ncbwa.com.

3.Texas A&MSEC47-133
4.North CarolinaACC45-144
6.Florida StateACC45-157
7.Oregon StatePac-1245-148
10.NC StateACC36-2015
12.West VirginiaBig 1236-22RV
14.ConnecticutBig East35-24RV
15.Kansas StateBig 1235-24RV
17.East CarolinaAmerican Athletic46-1713
18.Oklahoma StateBig 1242-1912
19.UC IrvineBig West45-1417
22.OklahomaBig 1240-2114
23.UC Santa BarbaraBig West44-1416
25.Mississippi StateSEC40-2320
Others receiving votes (listed alphabetically): Arizona (36-23), Cal Poly (35-22), California (36-19), Charleston (41-14), DBU (45-15), Georgia Tech (33-25), Grand Canyon (36-25), High Point (35-27), Illinois (35-21), Indiana State (44-15), Jackson State (35-20), Lamar (44-15), Louisiana (42-20), Louisiana Tech (45-19), Nebraska (40-22), Samford (36-22), San Diego (41-15), South Carolina (37-25), Southern Miss (43-20), Texas (36-24), UCF (37-21), UC San Diego (30-23), UNCW (40-21), Vanderbilt (38-23), Wake Forest (38-22), Western Michigan (31-23), Wofford (42-20).
Dropped out: No. 18 Wake Forest, No. 19 Arizona, No. 21 DBU, No. 22 Indiana State, No. 24 Southern Miss, No. 25 San Diego.
By conference: SEC 8, ACC 6, Big 12 4, Big West 2, Pac-12 2, American 1, Big East 1, MVC 1.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Dick Howser Trophy, Regional Players of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors Division I Players of the Week, the Stopper of the Year, and publication and writing contests.