Tennessee (50-11) tops NCBWA Division I Poll

DALLAS (NCBWA) – The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association continues its tradition of NCAA Division I polls for the 27th year with its 2024 weekly surveys.

Tennessee is No. 1 for the fourth week in succession, while Kentucky and Texas A&M remain Nos. 2-3 ahead of North Carolina and Arkansas.

All 16 teams hosting NCAA Regionals are among this week’s Top 25 as well as No. 1 NCAA seed and the other seven seeds 2-8. Twenty-eight of the Division I conference champs either are among the ranked squads or received votes.

Some of the big movers from week 14 to week 15 were Duke from No. 19 to 10, Oklahoma State from No. 20 to 12, Oklahoma from No. 15 to 12, DBU from No. 24 to 21, and LSU, Southern Miss and San Diego from receiving votes to Nos. 23-25, respectively, among others.

There have been 12 conferences (a season-high-tying 10 this week) represented in the first 15 standings of 2024, and there were 15 different conferences in the 2023 NCBWA polls.

This is the next-to-last NCBWA Top 25 poll with upcoming surveys on June 3 and after the ’24 NCAA World Series in Omaha, Neb.

The 2024 poll voters come from among 33 college baseball writers and related media persons from throughout the nation. The ’24 season features 305 NCAA Division I baseball-playing schools, and for more information or to join the NCBWA, please go to www.ncbwa.com.

3.Texas A&MSEC44-133
4.North CarolinaACC42-136
7.Florida StateACC41-138
8.Oregon StatePac-1241-147
12.Oklahoma StateBig 1240-1720
13.East CaroliinaAmerican Athletic43-1511
14.OklahomaBig 1237-1912
15.NC StateACC33-2014
16.UCSBBig West42-1215
17.UC IrvineBig West43-1213
18.Wake ForestACC38-2018
20.Mississippi StateSEC38-2116
22.Indiana StateMVC42-1317
24.Southern MissSun Belt41-18RV
25.San DiegoWest Coast40-13RV
Others receiving votes (listed alphabetically): Alabama (33-22), Cal Poly (35-22), California (36-19), Charleston (41-14), East Tennessee State (36-20), Florida (28-27), Hawai’i (33-16), High Point (34-25), Illinois (34-19), Jackson State (35-20), Lamar (44-15), Louisiana (40-18), Louisiana Tech (45-17), Nebraska (39-20), Oregon (37-18), Sacred Heart (35-23), Samford (36-22), South Carolina (36-23), Texas (35-22), Texas Tech (33-26), Troy (37-22), UC San Diego (30-23), UNCW (39-19), Utah (33-22), Vanderbilt (38-21), Western Michigan (31-21), West Virginia (33-22), Wofford (41-18).
Dropped out: No. 22 Oregon, No. 23 Louisiana, No. 25 Texas.
By conference: ACC 7, SEC 7, Big West 2, Big 12 2, Pac-12 2, American 1, CUSA 1, MVC 1, Sun Belt 1, West Coast 1.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Dick Howser Trophy, Regional Players of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors Division I Players of the Week, the Stopper of the Year, and publication and writing contests.