NCBWA unveils 2023 Preseason All-America Team

Tennessee has a trio of starting pitchers named to the first team: Chase Dollander, Drew Beam and Chase Burns (Photos: Tennessee Athletics)
Tennessee has a trio of starting pitchers named to the first team: Chase Dollander, Drew Beam and Chase Burns (Photos: Tennessee Athletics)

DALLAS (NCBWA) – Stocked with standouts from the 2022 NCAA World Series and national Top 25-35 squads, the 22nd annual National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Preseason All-America teams feature the best of college baseball for the coming campaign.

NCAA champ returnee Ole Miss SS Jacob Gonzalez highlights the first-team selections after slugging 18 home runs and driving in 52 runs in 65 games for coach Mike Bianco’s title-winning team. Rebels starting pitcher Hunter Elliott is a second unit choice after posting a 2.70 earned run average with 102 strikeouts in 80 innings of work last spring.

The 2022 NCAA World Series seventh-place finisher Stanford has a NCBWA-most five standouts mentioned on the pre-2023 All-America contingent. 1B Carter Graham (.331 average-22 home runs-79 RB) is a first-teamer with some of the nation’s top power numbers. Fellow Cardinal performers second team members utility player Braden Montgomery (.294-18-73), starting pitcher Quinn Matthews (9-2 record, 111 strikeouts in 99-plus innings) and relief man Ryan Bruno (6-1, 2.72 ERA) join third team member 2B Tommy Troy (.339-7-38) as other representatives from the Pac-12 Conference power.

Fellow NCAA World Series participant Texas A&M of the Southeastern Conference lands 1B Jack Moss (.380 average-6 homers-49 RBI) on the second team along with DH Austin Bost (.360-10-45) along with SEC member and CWS participant Arkansas and second team OF Jared Wegner (.348-11-52).

SEC and Atlantic Coast Conference teams also had ample presence on the first team with co-3B Jake Gelof (.377-21-81) of Virginia and LSU’s Tommy White (.362-27 home runs to lead all members-74), OF Enrqiue Bradfield (.317=8-36,46-of-46 on stolen base tries) of Vanderbilt, OF Dylan Crews (.349-22-72) of LSU, OF Vance Honeycutt (.296-35-57) of North Carolina, OF Wyatt Langford (.355-26-63) of Florida, and utility player Paul Skenes (.314-13-38,103 pitching record, 2.73 ERA) of LSU. Texas Tech DH Ty Coleman (.318-18-59) rounds out the first squad offense along with catcher  Michael Carico (.406-21-57) of Davidson and San Jose State 2B Charles McAdoo(.345-12-63).

The Tennessee pitching staff, which kept the 57-9 Vols at No.1 nationally throughout the ’22 season, has all three of its weekend rotation hurlers listed on the first team with Drew Beam (8-1. 1.66 ERA), Chase Burns (8-2, 2.91 ERA) and Chase Dollander (10-0, 2.39) heading the selections.

In all, there are 44 different schools and 18 DI conferences represented on the 2023 dream team, which has 20-plus schools ranked in various preseason polls.

Previous NCBWA postseason All-America teams from 1996-2021 also have featured the likes of 3B Kris Bryant of San Diego, P Stephen Strasburg of San Diego State, 1B Mark Teixeira of Georgia Tech, RHP Mark Prior of USC, SS-2B Rickie Weeks of Southern U., 3B Alex Gordon of Nebraska, P David Price of Vanderbilt, C Buster Posey of Florida State, catcher Mike Zunino of Florida, OF Andrew Benintendi of Arkansas, and 1B-P Brendan McKay (2017 Dick Howser Trophy) of Louisville, RP Kevin Kopps of Arkansas, 1B Ivan Melendez of Texas (2022 winner), among others.

Pos.First TeamSchoolHt.Wt.Cl.Hometown
CMichael CaricoDavidson6-0190Jr.Kernersville, N.C.
1BCarter GrahamStanford6-2232Jr.Los Angeles, Calif.
2BCharles McAdooSan Jose State6-2210Sr.Antioch, Calif.
SSJacob GonzalezOle Miss6-2200Jr.Glendora, Calif.
3BJake GelofVirginia6-1195Jr.Rehoboth Beach, Del.
3BTommy WhiteLSU6-0242So.St. Pete Beach, Fla.
OFEnrqiue Bradfield Jr.Vanderbilt6-1170Jr.Hialeah, Fla.
OFDylan CrewsLSU6-0203Jr.Longwood, Fla.
OFVance HoneycuttNorth Carolina6-3205So.Salisbury, N.C.
OFWyatt LangfordFlorida6-1220Jr.Trenton, Fla.
DHTy ColemanTexas Tech5-9195Sr.Midland, Texas
UTPaul SkenesLSU6-6235Jr.Lake Forest, Calif.
SPDrew BeamTennessee6-4230So.Murfreesboro, Tenn.
SPChase BurnsTennessee6-4205So.Gallatin, Calif.
SPChase DollanderTennessee6-3192Jr.Evans, Ga.
SPTanner HallSouthern Miss6-1186Jr.Zachary, La.
SPRhett LowderWake Forest6-2200Jr.Albemarle, N.C.
SPJason SavacoolMaryland6-1210Jr.Baldwinsville, N.Y.
RPPeter AllegroPortland5-9195Gr.Tacoma,. Wash.
RPCade DentonOral Roberts6-3180Jr.Rowlett, Texas
RPWilliam PrivetteCharleston6-6205Jr.Chapin, S.C.
RPAndrew WaltersMiami6-4222Jr.Palm Bay, Fla.
Second Team: C BT Riopelle, Florida, Jr.; 1B Jack Moss, Texas A&M, Jr.; 2B Amani Larry, Mississippi State, Jr.; 2B David Smith, UConn, Jr.; SS Maui Ahuna, Tennessee, Jr.; 3B Brock Wilken, Wake Forest, Jr.; OF Carlos Contreras, Sam Houston State, Sr.; OF Ian Farrow, Miami (Fla.), Jr.; OF Jack Hurley, Virginia Tech, Jr.; OF Jared Wegner, Arkansas, Gr.; DH Keaton Anthony, Iowa, r-So.; DH Austin Bost, Texas A&M, Sr.; UT Braden Montgomery, Stanford, So.; SP Hunter Elliott, Ole Miss, So.; SP Drue Hackenberg, Virginia Tech, So.; SP Quinn Matthews, Stanford, Sr.; SP Carter Spivey, East Carolina, Sr.; SP Hurston Walderp, Florida, Jr.; RP Ryan Bruno, Stanford, Jr.; RP Kirby Connell, Tennessee, Sr.; RP Sam Klein, Ball State, Jr.; RP Reid McLaughlin, BYU, Sr.
Third Team: C Jack Payton, Louisville, Jr.; C Luke Shliger, Maryland, Jr.; 1B Sam Kulaskingham, Air Force, Jr.; 1B Tre’ Morgan, LSU, Jr.; 2B Max Grant, Canisius, Jr.; 2B Tommy Troy, Stanford, Jr.; SS Matt Shaw, Maryland, Jr.; SS Jacob Wilson, Grand Canyon, Jr.; 3B Brayden Taylor, TCU, Jr.; OF Chase Davis, Arizona, Jr.; OF Jacob Jenkins-Cowart, East Carolina, So.; OF Ryan Lasko, Rutgers, Jr.; OF Nolan Schanuel, Florida Atlantic, Jr.; DH Alberto Osuna, North Carolina, Jr.; UT Jay Luikart, Wright State, Jr.; UT Nolan McLean, Oklahoma State, Jr.; SP Wyatt Crowell, Florida State, Jr.; SP Carter Holton, Vanderbilt, So.; SP Caleb Riedel, Omaha, Jr.; SP Alonzo Tredwell, UCLA, So.; SP Juaron Watts-Brown, Oklahoma State, So.; SP Levi Wells, Texas State, Jr.; SP Owen Wild, Gonzaga, Jr.; RP Carter Benbrook, UC Santa Barbara, r-So.; RP Kiernan Higgans, Virginia Tech, Gr.; RP Thomas Schultz, Vanderbilt, Sr.; RP Camden Sewell, Tennessee, Sr.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. For more information about the NCBWA, visit the association's official website The preseason All-America squads are considered the first step toward the eventual selection of the 2020 Dick Howser Trophy presented by the Game Headwear and voted upon for 23 seasons by members of the NCBWA.

Download .pdf version with 2022 statistics