Tennessee (56-7) tops NCBWA Division I Poll

DALLAS (NCBWA) – The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association continues its tradition of NCAA Division I polls for the 25th year with its 2022 weekly surveys.

Tennessee is No. 1 for the ninth time in the last 10 weeks with a nation-leading 56 victories. The Volunteers of 2021 NCBWA Mike Martin Coach of the Year Tony Vitello are the No. 1 seed in the NCAA Championship and will host the Knoxville Super Regional against Notre Dame of the ACC. Oregon State, the Vols, Texas and Vanderbilt have held the No. 1 position in 16 NCBWA surveys to date. All eight NCAA Super Regional hosts are among the Top 15 in this week’s poll.

Some of the big poll movers from weeks 16 to 17 are Notre Dame from No. 9 to 6, Auburn from No. 27 to 8, East Carolina from No. 23 to 9, Connecticut from No. 26 to 14, and Arkansas from No. 18 to 10, among others.

The eight winners of the or NCAA Super Regionals June 10-12 advance to the NCAA World Series starting Friday, June 17, at Charles Schwab Park in Omaha, Nebraska. That also will be the site of the revelation of the 35th Dick Howser Trophy presented by The Game Headwear on June 17 at a national news conference.

There have been 19 conferences (with 11 in this week’s survey) represented in the first 17 standings of 2022, and there also were 14 different conferences in all the 2021 NCBWA polls.

This is the last NCBWA Division I poll before the 2022 NCAA World Series. There will be a final poll the day after the ’22 CWS ends on either June 26 or 27.

The 2022 poll voters come from among 33 college baseball writers and related media members from throughout the nation. The ’22 season features 301 NCAA Division I baseball-playing schools, and for more information or to join the NCBWA, please go to ncbwa.com.

3.Oregon StatePac-1247-163
4.Virginia TechACC44-124
5.Texas A&MSEC40-185
6.Notre DameACC38-149
7.TexasBig 1245-198
9.East CarolinaAmerican Athletic45-1923
12.OklahomaBig 1240-2114
13.Southern MissConference USA47-1717
14.ConnecticutBig East49-1426
15.North CarolinaACC42-2025
16.Oklahoma StateBig 1242-226
17.MarylandBig Ten48-147
18.Texas StateSun Belt47-1415
19.Ole MissSEC35-22RV
24.Texas TechBig 1239-2211
26.UC Santa BarbaraBig West44-1419
27.TCUBig 1238-2222
28.GonzagaWest Coast37-1913
Others receiving votes (listed alphabetically): Air Force (32-29), Cal Poly (37-21), Campbell (41-19), Central Michigan (42-19), Coastal Carolina (39-20-1), Columbia (32-18), Dallas Baptist (34-24-1), Georgia (36-23), Georgia Southern (41-20), Georgia Tech (36-24), Grand Canyon (41-21), Kentucky (33-26), Louisiana (37-23), Michigan (34-28), Missouri State (31-29), NC State (36-21), Rutgers (44-15), San Diego (37-20), UTSA (38-20), VCU (42-20), Wake Forest (41-19-1).
Dropped out: Georgia Southern (29), San Diego (30).
By conference: SEC 8, ACC 6, Big 12 5, Pac-12 4, American Athletic 1, Big East 1, Big Ten 1, Big West 1, Conference USA 1, Sun Belt 1, West Coast 1.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Dick Howser Trophy, Regional Players of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors Division I Players of the Week, the Stopper of the Year, and publication and writing contests.