Tennessee (45-7) tops NCBWA Division I Poll

DALLAS (NCBWA) – The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association continues its tradition of NCAA Division I polls for the 25th year with its 2022 weekly surveys.

Tennessee returned to No. 1 for the sixth time in seven weeks to replace last week’s No. 1 Oregon State. The Volunteers, of coach Tony Vitello, continue to lead all DI teams with 45 victories and have clinched the No. 1 seed in the Southeastern Conference tournament, held in Hoover, Alabama, on May 24-29. Oregon State, the Volunteers, Texas and Vanderbilt have held the No. 1 position in 14 NCBWA surveys to date.

Some of the big poll movers from weeks 13 to 14 are Texas A&M from No. 16 to 4 after sweeping defending NCAA Champ Mississippi State last week, Texas State from No. 17 to 11, Vanderbilt from No. 24 to 16 and Auburn from No. 22 to 19, among others.

There have been 18 conferences (with 10 this week) represented in the first 14 standings of 2022, and there also were 14 different conferences in all the 2021 NCBWA polls.

The 2022 poll voters come from among 33 college baseball writers and related media members from throughout the nation. The ’22 season features 301 NCAA Division I baseball-playing schools, and for more information or to join the NCBWA, please go to ncbwa.com.

2.Oregon StatePac-1240-111
3.Virginia TechACC36-115
4.Texas A&MSEC33-1616
6.Texas TechBig 1235-168
10.Oklahoma StateBig 1234-173
11.Texas StateSun Belt41-1117
12.ConnecticutBig East42-1010
13.GonzagaWest Coast32-1311
14.Notre DameACC31-1115
17.TexasBig 1235-1719
18.Southern MissConference USA38-1412
20.MarylandBig Ten41-1014
22.UC Santa BarbaraBig West37-1121
23.Florida StateACC32-1823
24.TCUBig 1232-1827
26.Grand CanyonWestern Athletic36-1726
29.RutgersBig Ten39-1228
t30.Dallas BaptistMissouri Valley33-1830
t30.East CarolinaAmerican Athletic34-18RV
Others receiving votes (listed alphabetically): Coastal Carolina (33-16-1), Davidson (40-9), Florida (32-19), Eastern Kentucky (32-17), Georgia Southern (34-17), Georgia Tech (28-21), Liberty (31-18), Maine (25-17), McNeese (30-21), Mercer (38-13), NC State (32-17), Oklahoma (31-18), Old Dominion (34-15), Ole Miss (31-19), Oregon (31-21), Penn (31-13), San Diego (31-16), Southern Illinois (38-13), Wake Forest (35-16-1), Wofford (37-14-1).
Dropped out: Oregon (29).
By conference: SEC 7, ACC 6, Big 12 4, Pac-12 4, Big Ten 2, American Athletic 1, Big East 1, Big West 1, Conference USA 1, Missouri Valley 1.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Dick Howser Trophy, Regional Players of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors Division I Players of the Week, the Stopper of the Year, and publication and writing contests.