Tennessee (37-3) tops NCBWA Division I Poll

DALLAS (NCBWA) – The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association continues its tradition of NCAA Division I polls for the 25th year with its 2022 weekly surveys.

Tennessee (37-3) is No. 1 for the fifth consecutive week; going 6-2 since having its school-record winning streak ended at 23 games overall two weeks ago. Volunteers head coach Tony Vitello, the 2021 NCBWA Mike Martin National Coach of the Year Award winner, has led the Vols to their best start in Southeastern Conference annals at 17-1. Texas, Vanderbilt and Tennessee have held down the No. 1 position in 10 NCBWA surveys to date.

Some of the big poll movers from Weeks 10 to 11 are Virginia Tech from No. 16 to 8, Virginia back in the Top 10 from No. 11 to 9, Auburn from No. 25 to 19, Texas A&M from receiving votes to No. 27, and TCU from No. 21 to 18, among others.

There have been 18 conferences (with 10+ this week) represented in the first 11 standings of 2022, and there also were 14 different conferences in all the 2021 NCBWA polls.

The 2022 poll voters come from among 33 college baseball writers and related media members from throughout the nation. The ’22 season features 301 NCAA Division I baseball-playing schools, and for more information or to join the NCBWA, please go to ncbwa.com.

2.Oregon StatePac-1231-82
4.Southern MissConference USA32-86
7.TexasBig 1230-137
8.Oklahoma StateBig 1227-134
9.Virginia TechACC28-916
11.Texas TechBig 1229-149
13.ConnecticutBig East32-813
14.GonzagaWest Coast26-1110
16.Notre DameACC26-814
18.TCUBig 1227-1321
20.Texas StateSun Belt32-918
21.MarylandBig Ten32-819
24.Georgia SouthernSun Belt27-1229
26.Texas A&MSEC25-14RV
29.UC Santa BarbaraBig West27-9RV
30.Florida StateACC24-1526
Others receiving votes (listed alphabetically): Alabama (24-17), Cal Poly (24-15), Central Michigan (27-10), Creighton (23-11), Dallas Baptist (24-15), Davidson (31-7), East Carolina (24-17), Florida (23-17), Georgia Tech (25-16), Grand Canyon (27-14), Iowa (22-12), Liberty (26-12), Louisiana Tech (28-13), Mercer (32-8), NC State (25-13), Oklahoma (25-13), Old Dominion (28-10), Ole Miss (22-17), Rutgers (32-9), San Diego (25-13), Southern Illinois (28-11), UNLV (28-13), UTSA (27-13), Wake Forest (28-12).
Dropped out: Dallas Baptist (24), Rutgers (28), Mercer (30).
By conference: SEC 7, ACC 6, Pac-12 5, Big 12 4, Sun Belt 2, Big East 1, Big Ten 1, Big West 1, Conference USA 1, Southern 1.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Dick Howser Trophy, Regional Players of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors Division I Players of the Week, the Stopper of the Year, and publication and writing contests.