Tennessee (27-1) tops NCBWA Division I Poll

DALLAS (NCBWA) – The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association continues its tradition of NCAA Division I polls for the 25th year with its 2022 weekly surveys.

Tennessee (27-1) is No. 1 for the second week in a row after sweeping previous NCBWA No. 1 Vanderbilt in Nashville to win its school-record 19th consecutive game. Volunteers head coach Tony Vitello, the 2021 NCBWA Mike Martin National Coach of the Year Award winner, also has led the Vols to their best Southeastern Conference start in school history at 9-0. Texas, Vandy and the Vols have held down the No. 1 position in eight NCBWA surveys to date.

Some of the big movers from Weeks Seven to Eight have been Arizona from No. 14 to 9, Ole Miss from No. 10 to 6, UCLA from receiving votes to 12 and Texas State from No. 23 to 14, among others.

There have been 17 conferences (with 10 this week) represented in the first eight standings of 2022, and there also were 14 different conferences in all the 2021 NCBWA polls.

The 2022 poll voters come from among 33 college baseball writers and related media members from throughout the nation. The ’22 season features 301 NCAA Division I baseball-playing schools, and for more information or to join the NCBWA, please go to ncbwa.com.

4.Texas TechBig 1224-66
5.Oregon StatePac-1220-74
6.Ole MissSEC19-810
7.Oklahoma StateBig 1220-88
8.TexasBig 1221-97
13.Notre DameACC16-519
14.Texas StateSun Belt23-623
17.GonzagaWest Coast18-721
18.TCUBig 1219-912
20.Florida StateACC16-119
21.North CarolinaACC20-818
24.MarylandBig Ten22-626
25.ConnecticutBig East19-727
26.Southern MissConference USA19-8RV
27.Dallas BaptistMissouri Valley17-1022
28.Georgia TechACC18-1124
29.NC StateACC18-9RV
Others receiving votes (listed alphabetically): Auburn (19-9), Ball State (17-9), Cal Poly (18-10), California Baptist (19-7), Clemson (18-9), Davidson (22-5), Eastern Michigan (10-15), Florida Gulf Coast University (20-8), Georgia Southern (18-10), Georgia State (18-10), Grand Canyon (18-11), Iowa (13-9), Kentucky (18-11), Liberty (17-9), Louisiana Tech (19-9), Mercer (24-5), Mississippi State (17-12), Oklahoma (16-10), Old Dominion (20-6), Purdue (18-5), Rutgers (21-6), San Diego (17-9), Southern Illinois (20-8), Tennessee Tech (16-10), UC Santa Barbara (18-7), UNLV (19-9), USC (17-8), UTSA (18-10), Virginia Tech (17-7), Wake Forest (21-7), West Virginia (16-10).
Dropped out: Liberty (28), Purdue (29), Old Dominion (30).
By conference: ACC 8, SEC 7, Pac-12 5, Big 12 4, Big East 1, Big Ten 1, Conference USA 1, Missouri Valley 1, Sun Belt 1, West Coast 1.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Dick Howser Trophy, Regional Players of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors Division I Players of the Week, the Stopper of the Year, and publication and writing contests.