Tennessee (23-1) tops NCBWA Division I Poll

DALLAS (NCBWA) – The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association continues its tradition of NCAA Division I polls for the 25th year with its 2022 weekly surveys.

Tennessee takes over at No. 1 for the first time in ’22 joining Texas and Vanderbilt as the three school to lead the polls. Volunteers head coach Tony Vitello was the 2021 NCBWA Mike Martin National Coach of the Year Award recipient.

Vanderbilt dropped to No. 5, while Texas is No. 7 in this week’s survey. Some of the big movers from weeks six to seven are Virginia from No. 8 to 3, Texas Tech from No. 11 to 6, Oklahoma State from No. 14 to 8, Miami (Fla.) from No. 29 to 16, Louisville from No. 24 to 15, TCU from No. 20 to 12 and Oregon from receiving votes to No. 25, among others.

There have been 17 conferences (with 10 this week) represented in the first seven standings of 2022; There were 14 different conferences in all the 2021 NCBWA polls.

The 2022 poll voters come from among 33 college baseball writers and related media members from throughout the nation. The ’22 season features 301 NCAA Division I baseball-playing schools, and for more information or to join the NCBWA, please go to ncbwa.com.

4.Oregon StatePac-1217-56
6.Texas TechBig 1220-511
7.TexasBig 1219-74
8.Oklahoma StateBig 1218-614
9.Florida StateACC16-710
10.Ole MissSEC16-75
12.TCUBig 1218-520
18.North CarolinaACC18-613
19.Notre DameACC12-515
21.GonzagaWest Coast16-623
22.Dallas BaptistMissouri Valley15-8RV
23.Texas StateSun Belt20-521
24.Georgia TechACC16-912
26.MarylandBig Ten18-522
27.ConnecticutBig East17-527
28.LibertyAtlantic Sun15-718
29.PurdueBig Ten18-1RV
30.Old DominionConference USA18-425
Others receiving votes (listed alphabetically): Auburn (17-7), California (11-12), California Baptist (16-6), Charlotte (16-7), Clemson (16-7), College of Charleston (15-9), Davidson (19-4), Florida Gulf Coast University (18-6), Georgia Southern (17-7), Grand Canyon (16-9), Kennesaw State (16-7), Kentucky (17-8), Long Beach State (12-10), Louisiana Tech (18-6), Mercer (20-5), Michigan (13-10), Mississippi State (15-10), NC State (15-8), North Dakota State (15-8), Rutgers (16-6), San Diego (15-7), SE Missouri State (17-5), South Alabama (16-6), South Carolina (12-11), Southern Illinois (17-7), Southern Miss (17-7), Stetson (14-9), Tennessee Tech (15-7), Texas A&M (14-9), Troy (16-7), UC Irvine (15-8), UC Santa Barbara (16-5), UCLA (15-8), USC (14-8), USF (17-7), Virginia Tech (14-6),
Wake Forest (18-6), West Virginia (13-8)
Dropped out: Clemson (26), Wake Forest (28), Mississippi State (30).
By conference: ACC 7, SEC 7, Big 12 4, Pac-12 4, Big Ten 2, Atlantic Sun 1, Big East 1, Conference USA 1, Missouri Valley 1, Sun Belt 1.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Dick Howser Trophy, Regional Players of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors Division I Players of the Week, the Stopper of the Year, and publication and writing contests.