DALLAS (NCBWA) The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association
(NCBWA) released the Pro-Line Cap National Player of the Week awards
for the period ending March 6. Georgia Tech freshman designated hitter
Matt Wieters was named National Hitter of the Week, while Centenary
senior RHP J.C. Biagi was named National Pitcher of the Week. The
NCBWA board reviews candidates from each Division I conference each week
and names winners each Tuesday throughout the season.

Wieters went 13-for-17 (.765) with a home run and nine RBIs to lead Georgia
Tech to a perfect 4-0 record against Georgia Southern and Duke last week.
The freshman switch hitter had a slugging percentage of 1.059 and posted
an .800 on-base percentage. He had two doubles, walked three times and added
two sacrifice bunts. After a 1-for-3 performance in a midweek 9-1 win over
Georgia Southern, the Goose Creek, S.C., native went 12-for-14 in Tech's
three game sweep at Duke. In the series finale on Sunday, he went a perfect
5-for-5 with a grand slam and six RBIs. Additionally, Wieters earned the
win on Tuesday against Georgia Southern by working 3 2/3 innings of shutout

Biagi pitched a complete game two-hitter to lead Centenary to a 6-1 victory
over then-No. 3 LSU last week. The College Place, Wash., native took a no-hitter
into the seventh inning of his first start of the season. He gave up one
unearned run on two hits, walked one and struck out six to lead the Gents
to their first win over the Tigers in 22 meetings since 1956.

With this week's honor, Biagi is automatically named to the watch list
for Roger Clemens Award, given to the national collegiate pitcher of the
year, sponsored by the Greater Houston Baseball Organization.

The Fort Worth-based Pro-Line Cap Co. supplies the official cap to more
than 100 Division I college teams. This is the first season Pro-Line has
sponsored the NCBWA's Players of the Week. The sponsorship provides for
plaques to be awarded to each of the weekly winners and other promotional
consideration. For more information about Pro-Line, visit their website

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college
baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of
the sport. For more information about the NCBWA, visit the association's
official website,

2005 Pro-Line Cap Players of the Week:

Feb. 8: Grant Rembert, Elon (Hitter); Erik Averill, Arizona State (Pitcher)

Feb. 15: Scott Bridges, Arkansas (Hitter); Brian Bogusevic, Tulane (Pitcher)

Feb. 22: Drew Stubbs, Texas (Hitter); Taylor Fowler, Arkansas State (Pitcher)

March 1: Kurt Eichorn, Kent State (Hitter); Tyler Chambliss, Florida State (Pitcher)

March 8: Matt Wieters, Georgia Tech (Hitter); J.C. Biagi, Centenary (Pitcher)

March 15: Jeremy Slayden, Georgia Tech (Hitter); Lance Broadway, TCU and Gib Hobson, N.C. State (Pitcher)

March 22: Alex Gordon, Nebraska (Hitter); Luke Hochevar, Tennessee (Pitcher)

March 29: Josh Rodriguez, Rice (Hitter); Brent Gaphardt, Delaware (Pitcher)

April 5: Mike Baxter, Vanderbilt (Hitter); Max Scherzer, Missouri (Pitcher)

April 12: Dusty Bensko, Illinois (Hitter); J. Brent Cox, Texas (Pitcher)

April 19: Mike Costanzo, Coastal Carolina (Hitter); Adrian Alaniz, Texas (Pitcher)

April 26: Brandon Taylor, BYU (Hitter); Ricky Brooks, East Carolina (Pitcher)

May 3: Doug Beck, Utah (Hitter); Matt Maloney, Ole Miss (Pitcher)

May 10: J.R. Kyes, Illinois (Hitter); Brad Lincoln, Houston (Pitcher)

May 17: Justin Beam, Pacific (Hitter); Jeff Denlea, Hofstra (Pitcher)

May 24: Craig Cooper, Notre Dame and Adam Tucker, Birmingham-Southern
(Hitter); Lance Broadway, TCU (Pitcher)

Related links:

Pro-Line Cap to sponsor NCBWA Players of the Week

Pro-Line Cap Player of the Week plaques