FWAA Texas A&M News

FWAA unveils 2022 Freshman All-America Team

DALLAS (FWAA) – North Carolina quarterback Drake Maye was the toast of Atlantic Coast Conference quarterbacks this season, throwing for 38 touchdowns and leading the league in passing yards (4,321) and total touchdowns (45). For his dynamic efforts that led the Tar Heels (9-5) to the ACC’s Coastal Division title, the Football Writers Association of America awarded him as its Freshman Player of the Year presented by Chris Doering Mortgage.

Freshman Focus: Week 9

Each week during the 2022 season, we will highlight the notable performances of first-year players and head coaches leading up to the selection of our annual Freshman All-America Team and the Steve Spurrier First-Year Coach of the Year Award presented by Chris Doering Mortgage. Here are the top performances from Week 9, the weekend of Oct. 29:

Houston Chronicle's Zwerneman claims FWAA Beat Writer of the Year Award

The college football story of the year in 2021 broke in July during Southeastern Conference Media Days, but the story had nothing to do with the schools currently in the league. It had everything to do with two Big 12 Conference schools – Texas and Oklahoma – headed to the SEC in the future. It has been a bombshell story that has sent tremors through the college sports landscape and has even changed future conference affiliations outside the SEC in recent months. An earthquake basically. And the reporter who broke that story, the Houston Chronicle's Brent Zwerneman, was an easy choice for the FWAA's Steve Ellis Beat Writer of the Year Award.


Aggies upset top-ranked Alabama