DALLAS (FWAA) The 14th annual Football Writers Association of America Freshman All-America Team has a decidedly Texas twist to it, including two members of the teams that recently settled the College Football Playoff championship at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas.

Oregon tailback Royce Freeman and Ohio State quarterback J.T. Barrett stood on opposing sidelines on Monday night but will be forever be reflected together among the 30 players selected.

Barrett is one of nine players on the FWAA team to have played his high school football in Texas, while Freeman is one of four players from California.

Boise State coach Bryan Harsin led the Broncos to a New Years Six bowl win in the Fiesta Bowl in his first season leading the program. Harsin, who attended high school in Boise and played football at Boise State, spent two seasons at the University of Texas as co-offensive coordinator before a successful head coaching stop at Arkansas State (2013) led him back him to Boise.

Mike Griffith of the MLive.com Media Group led a 10-person panel of nationally-prominent writers representing each of the FBS conferences in the selection of the team. Both true freshmen (20 players) and redshirt freshmen (10 players) were considered for the team and are so noted.

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization
founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,400 men and women who cover college football.
The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key
executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas
that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For
more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson
at tiger@fwaa.com or 214-870-6516.

All-Time FWAA Freshman All-America Teams

2001 |
2002 |
2003 |
2004 |
2005 |
2006 |
2007 |
2008 |
2009 |
2010 |
2011 |
2012 |