LOS ANGELES (FWAA) The Football Writers Association of America and Scripps announced their fifth annual Freshman All-America Team on Wednesday morning during the association's annual awards breakfast.

The team features three players from Arkansas, including the only unanimous selection, running back Darren  McFadden. The ACC led all conferences with five players, including a pair from Florida State. Nebraska also had two players named to the team.

In addition, South Carolina coach Steve Spurrier was named the top first-year coach at his school.

The team and coach are selected by a group of writers led by FWAA vice-president Mike Griffith of the Knoxville News-Sentinel, a member of the Scripps chain. Both true freshmen and redshirt freshmen were considered for the team and so noted.

For more information on the FWAA Freshman All-America Team and other FWAA awards, go to www.footballwriters.com.

All-Time FWAA Freshman All-America Teams

2001 |
2002 |
2003 |
2004 |
2005 |
2006 |