NEW ORLEANS (FWAA) The Football Writers Association of America and AON Insurance announced their seventh annual Freshman All-America Team on Monday morning during the association's annual awards breakfast.

The team features teammates from Arizona State, Florida State, and Texas Tech and was chosen from 104 players nominated. The Big East leads all conferences with five players on the squad, while the ACC, Big 12 and Pac-10 each boast four members. Fourteen of the 28 freshman All-America selections are true freshman.

In addition, Boston College coach Jeff Jagodzinski was named the top first-year coach at his school.

The team and coach are selected by a group of writers led by FWAA vice-president Mike Griffith of the Knoxville News-Sentinel. Both true freshmen and redshirt freshmen were considered for the team and so noted.

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of nearly 1,000 men and women across North America who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards, a national poll and its annual All-America team.

For more information on the AON Insurance/FWAA Freshman All-America Team and other FWAA awards, go to www.footballwriters.com.

All-Time FWAA Freshman All-America Teams

2001 |
2002 |
2003 |
2004 |
2005 |
2006 |