April 26, 2012
For Immediate Release
Contact: Logan Lawrence
Lock Haven's Zuback, Texas A&M-Kingsville's Dillon honored
Bookmark and Share

DALLAS (NCBWA) The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association released its weekly NCAA Division II National Players of the Week awards for the period ending April 22nd. Lock Haven sophomore outfielder Scott Zuback is the National Hitter of the Week while Texas A&M-Kingsville senior righthander Jaden Dillon is the National Pitcher of the Week.

Scott Zuback (Mill Hall, Pa.) had a monster week at the plate in the team's four games, posting a remarkable .727 batting average. He went 8-for-11, including one double and two home runs. Zuback drove in seven RBI for the week and also scored seven runs of his own. Zuback recorded a 1.364 slugging percentage and had a .786 on-base percentage. He drew three walks throughout the week and recorded one sacrifice. Zuback went the entire week without striking out. Zuback was named the PSAC West Player of the Week for his effort.

Jaden Dillon (Bridge City, Texas) pitched to two batters over the minimum in a dominant performance over Eastern New Mexico on Friday. He tossed a 1-hit shutout without allowing a walk and struck out 11. He improved to 8-0 on the season and his league-leading ERA dropped to 1.39. The 11-0 win was a perfect jump-start to a series sweep of the Greyhounds.

Division II Regional Players of the Week:
Atlantic: Scott Zuback, Lock Haven (Hitter); Colby Fisher, Davis & Elkins (Pitcher)
Central: Brian Voight, Augustana (S.D.) (Hitter); Derek Hansen, Augustana (S.D.) (Pitcher)
East: Matt Walsh, Franklin Pierce (Hitter); Rob Finneran, Bentley (Pitcher)
Midwest: Ben Albano, Grand Valley State (Hitter); Mark Sappington, Rockhurst (Pitcher)
South: Cory Jensen, Florida Southern (Hitter); Ben O Shea, Tampa (Pitcher)
South Central: Mace Krol, Fort Hays State (Hitter); Jaden Dillon, Texas A&M-Kingsville (Pitcher)
Southeast: John Roberts, Armstrong Atlantic (Hitter); Matt Dillon, Mount Union (Pitcher)
West: Garrett Tuck, UC San Diego (Hitter); Chris Short, Cal. St.-Stanislaus (Pitcher)

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Howser Award Player of the Year, Regional Player of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors preseason All-America awards, publication and writing contests.

2012 NCBWA Division II Players of the Week:
Feb. 5: Chris Miller, Cal Poly Pomona (Hitter); Rick Reyna, Angelo State (Pitcher)
Feb. 12: Anthony Boza, Lynn (Hitter); Barry Meeks, West Alabama (Pitcher)
Feb. 19: Joe Andrade, Dixie State (Hitter); Brandon Droge, Newman (Pitcher)
Feb. 26: Nate Wilder, Arkansas Tech (Hitter); Carl O'Neal, St. Mary's (Pitcher)
March 4: Tommy Barnes, Nebraska-Kearney (Hitter); Nolan Snell, Colorado Mesa (Pitcher)
March 11: Drew Miller, Southwest Baptist (Hitter); Dan McMahon, University of the Sciences (Pitcher)
March 18: Heath Peterson, Montevallo (Hitter); Chris Zbin, Southern Connecticut State (Pitcher)
March 25: Areo Regoli, Nova Southeastern (Hitter); Tim Flight, Southern New Hampshire (Pitcher)
April 1: Tucker Brown, Central Oklahoma (Hitter); Mark Royer, Millersville (Pitcher)
April 8: James Roche, Franklin Pierce (Hitter); Derek Hansen, Augustana (Pitcher)
April 15: Giancarlo Brugnoni, Grand Valley State (Hitter); Colton Mitchell, Delta State (Pitcher)
April 22: Scott Zuback, Lock Haven (Hitter); Jaden Dillon, Texas A&M-Kingsville (Pitcher)
April 29: Alex Schrupp, Metro State (Hitter); Logan Birr, St. Cloud State (Pitcher)
May 6: Adam Shank, St. Edward's (Hitter); Thomas Lee, Sonoma State (Pitcher)