Tampa (20-1) tops NCBWA Division II Poll

WINGATE, N.C. (NCBWA) – For the fourth straight week, the University of Tampa Spartans received every first-place vote, sitting atop the National Collegiate Baseball Writers of America (NCBWA) top 25 in the fifth poll of the 2024 regular season. The Spartans are 20-1 on the season and have been the top-ranked team in all five in-season NCBWA polls this year, after checking in at #3 in the preseason poll.

For the second straight week, the top six of the poll are unchanged, with North Greenville, Central Missouri, Point Loma, West Texas A&M rounding and Millersville rounding out the top six in the same order as the last two weeks. Saint Leo made a big jump into the top 10, ranking seventh this week after checking in at #14 last week. Southern Arkansas dropped one spot from seventh to eighth, while Missouri Southern and Wayne State switched spots, with Missouri Southern ranking ninth this week and Wayne State rounding out the top 10.

Young Harris made a big jump from 20th to 11th, while defending champion Angelo State continues to climb up the rankings, checking in at number 15 this week, up five spots from last week.

There are four new teams in this week’s top 25 poll, led by Ashland, who is 17th this week after receiving no votes in last week’s poll. Lubbock Christian and North Georgia check in at number 22 and 23, while Lee also cracks this week’s poll after receiving votes last week, rounding out the poll at 25th.

The NCBWA Region polls will be announced every Monday throughout the season, with a new top 25 national poll coming out every Wednesday.  

Rk.School [1st place]LocationRecordPts.Pvs.
1.Tampa [20]Tampa, Fla.20-15001
2.North GreenvilleTigerville, S.C.19-44722
3.Central MissouriWarrensburg, Mo.19-34673
4.Point LomaSan Diego, Calif.15-6-14224
5.West Texas A&MCanyon, Texas16-64085
6.MillersvilleMillersville, Pa.13-33846
7.Saint LeoBoca Raton, Fla.17-236014
8.Southern ArkansasMagnolia, Ark.16-43597
9.Missouri SouthernJoplin, Mo.20-430310
10.Wayne StateDetroit, Mich.9-42809
11.Young HarrisYoung Harris, Ga.15-427518
12.MolloyRockville Centre, N.Y.11-227413
13.West ChesterWest Chester, Pa.9-026115
14.Northwest NazareneNampa, Idaho12-4-125612
15.Angelo StateSan Angelo, Texas17-824220
16.West FloridaPensacola, Fla.14-62288
17.AshlandAshland, Va.10-1178NR
18.Mount OliveMount Olive, N.C.13-715719
19.AugustanaSioux Falls, S.D.10-212623
20.Cal State Monterey BaySeaside, Calif.13-710321
21.East StroudsburgEast Stroudsburg, Pa.11-39824
22.Lubbock ChristianLubbock, Texas17-784RV
23.North GeorgiaDahlonega, Ga.14-466RV
24.Illinois SpringfieldSpringfield, Ill.11-66217
25.LeeCleveland, Tenn.15-732RV
Also receiving votes: Delta State (12-6) 39; North Georgia (11-4) 33; Central Oklahoma (14-4) 18; Seton Hill (6-3) 15; Barton (15-2) 8; Lynn (11-6) 7; Westmont (10-6-3) 7; Lubbock Christian (13-7) 6; Saginaw Valley State (8-3) 6; Queens (4-1) 4; Hawaii Pacific (13-4) 4; Georgia Southwestern (13-5) 1..
Dropped out: UNC Pembroke (11); CSU Pueblo (16); Grand Valley State (22); Goldey-Beacom (25)..

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Dick Howser Trophy, Regional Players of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors Division I Players of the Week, the Stopper of the Year, and publication and writing contests.

NCBWA Division II Regional Polls