Tampa (17-0) tops NCBWA Division II Poll

WINGATE, N.C. (NCBWA) – For the third straight week, the University of Tampa Spartans received every first-place vote, sitting atop the National Collegiate Baseball Writers of America (NCBWA) top 25 in the fourth poll of the 2024 regular season. The Spartans are a perfect 17-0 on the season and have been the top-ranked team in all four in-season NCBWA polls this year, after checking in at No. 3 in the preseason poll.

The top six of the poll are unchanged, with North Greenville, Central Missouri, Point Loma and West Texas A&M rounding out the top five in the same order as last week. Southern Arkansas jumps into the top 10 this week at number seven, along with ninth-ranked Wayne State, moving up three spots. UNC Pembroke is the big mover this week, going from receiving votes last week to No. 11 in this week’s poll, checking in at 15-3 overall.

Five of the last seven teams in the poll are new to the ranking this week, led by No. 19 Mount Olive and defending national champion Angelo State at No. 20. Grand Valley State, Augustana and East Stroudsburg also crack this week’s rankings.

The NCBWA Region polls will be announced every Monday throughout the season, with a new top 25 national poll coming out every Wednesday.  

Rk.School [1st place]LocationRecordPts.Pvs.
1.Tampa [20]Tampa, Fla.17-05001
2.North GreenvilleTigerville, S.C.16-34742
3.Central MissouriWarrensburg, Mo.15-34643
4.Point LomaSan Diego, Calif.12-5-14024
5.West Texas A&MCanyon, Texas13-54005
6.MillersvilleMillersville, Pa.10-33836
7.Southern ArkansasMagnolia, Ark.15-337311
8.West FloridaPensacola, Fla.12-53559
9.Wayne StateDetroit, Mich.7-133012
10.Missouri SouthernJoplin, Mo.17-42928
11.UNC PembrokePembroke, N.C.15-3272RV
12.Northwest NazareneNampa, Idaho12-4-126910
13.MolloyRockville Centre, N.Y.8-226613
14.Saint LeoSaint Leo, Fla.13-223719
15.West ChesterWest Chester, Pa.7-023518
16.CSU PuebloPueblo, Colo.11-421015
17.Illinois SpringfieldSpringfield, Ill.9-418820
18.Young HarrisYoung Harris, Ga.14-41707
19.Mount OliveMount Olive, N.C.10-5139RV
20.Angelo StateSan Angelo, Texas13-897RV
21.Cal State Monterey BaySeaside, Fla.10-68123
22.Grand Valley StateGrand Rapids, Mich.6-174RV
23.AugustanaSioux Falls, S.D.6-251NR
24.East StroudsburgEast Stroudsburg, Pa.6-347RV
25.Goldey-BeacomWilmington, Del.7-54222
Also receiving votes: Delta State (12-6) 39; North Georgia (11-4) 33; Central Oklahoma (14-4) 18; Seton Hill (6-3) 15; Barton (15-2) 8; Lynn (11-6) 7; Westmont (10-6-3) 7; Lubbock Christian (13-7) 6; Saginaw Valley State (8-3) 6; Queens (4-1) 4; Hawai’i Pacific (13-4) 4; Georgia Southwestern (13-5) 1.
Dropped out: Lynn (14); Georgia Southwestern (16); Central Oklahoma (17); Lincoln Memorial (21); Harding (24); UT Tyler (25).

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Dick Howser Trophy, Regional Players of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors Division I Players of the Week, the Stopper of the Year, and publication and writing contests.

NCBWA Division II Regional Polls