NCBWA announces 2022 All-America Team

DALLAS (NCBWA) – After two rounds of voting by the organization, 78 baseball student-athletes comprise the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association’s 23rd Annual All-America first, second and third teams, as announced on Wednesday.

Twenty-three different conferences and 14 conference championships teams are represented. The three All-America squads are also made up of 13 conference players or co-players of the year, 11 conference pitchers of the year winners and one relief pitcher of the year.

Members of this year’s team lead nationally in 14 different categories, including home runs (Ivan Melendez, Texas, 32), RBIs (Melendez, 94), RBI per game (Carlos Contreras, Sam Houston, 1.59), walks (Sonny DiChiara, Auburn, 68), walks per game (DiChara, 1.17), on-base percentage (Michael Carico, Davidson, .559), total bases (Melendez, 213), slugging percentage (Melendez, .887), wins (Thomas Harrington, Campbell, 12), earned run average (Jonathan Brand, Miami U., 1.40), hits allowed per nine innings (Cameron Foster, McNeese, 5.00), strikeouts (Cooper Hjerpe, Oregon State, 161), whip (Chase Dollander, Tennessee, 0.80) and saves (Tristan Stivors, Texas State, 18).

Previous NCBWA All-America teams from 1996-2021 have featured the likes of P Stephen Strasburg of San Diego State, OF J.D. Drew of Florida State, P-DH Jason Jennings of Baylor, 1B Mark Teixeira of Georgia Tech, RHP Mark Prior of Southern California, SS Khalil Greene of Clemson, SS-2B Rickie Weeks of Southern, 3B Alex Gordon of Nebraska, P David Price of Vanderbilt, P-DH Brad Lincoln of Houston, C Buster Posey of Florida State, catcher Mike Zunino of Florida, 3B Kris Bryant of San Diego, P-1B A.J. Reed from Kentucky; OF Andrew Benintendi from Arkansas, OF Seth Beer of Clemson, UTL Brendan McKay from Louisville and Florida P Brady Singer, C Adley Rutschman and RP Kevin Kopps among others.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. For more information about the NCBWA, visit the association's official Web site,

The Howser Trophy was created in 1987 shortly after Howser's death. Previous winners of the Howser Trophy are Mike Fiore, OF, Miami (Fla.), 1987; Robin Ventura, 3B, Oklahoma State, 1988; Scott Bryant, 1B-P, Texas, 1989; Alex Fernandez, P, Miami-Dade Community College South, 1990; Frank Rodriguez, P, Howard College (Texas), 1991; Brooks Kieschnick, UT-P, Texas, 1992 and 1993; Jason Varitek, C, Georgia Tech, 1994; Todd Helton, 1B, Tennessee, 1995; Kris Benson, P, Clemson, 1996; J. D. Drew, OF, Florida State, 1997; Eddy Furniss, 1B, LSU, 1998; Jason Jennings, UT-P, Baylor, 1999; Mark Teixeira, 1B, Georgia Tech, 2000; Mark Prior, P, USC, 2001, Khalil Greene, SS, Clemson, 2002; Rickie Weeks, 2B, Southern U., 2003; Jered Weaver, P, Long Beach State, 2004; Alex Gordon, 3B, Nebraska, 2005; Brad Lincoln, P/DH, Houston, 2006; David Price, P, Vanderbilt, 2007; Buster Posey, C, Florida State, 2008; Stephen Strasburg, P, San Diego State, 2009; Anthony Rendon, 3B, Rice, 2010; Taylor Jungmann, P, Texas, 2011; Mike Zunino, C, Florida, 2012; Kris Bryant, 3B, San Diego, 2013; A.J. Reed, DH-P, Kentucky, 2014; Andrew Benintendi, OF, Arkansas, 2015; Seth Beer, OF, Clemson, 2016; Brendan McKay, DH-P, Louisville, 2017; Brady Singer, P, Florida, 2018; Adley Rutschman, C, Oregon State, 2019; No Award, COVID-19, 2020; and Kevin Kopps, P, Arkansas.

Pos.First TeamSchoolHt.Wt.Cl.Hometown
CKevin ParadaGeorgia Tech6-1210So.Pasadena, Calif.
1BIvan MelendezTexas6-3225r-Jr.El Paso, Texas
2BJace JungTexas Tech6-0205So.San Antonio, Texas
SSPeyton GrahamOklahoma6-4171r-So.Waxahachie, Texas
3BTrey LipscombTennessee6-1200Sr.Frederick, Md.
3BMax WagnerClemson6-0215So.Green Bay, Wis.
OFDylan CrewsLSU6-0203So.Longwood, Fla.
OFChris AlleyneMaryland5-10190r-Sr.Philadelphia, Pa.
OFJacob MeltonOregon State6-3208Jr.Medford, Ore.
OFEnrique Bradfield Jr.Vanderbilt6-1160So.Hialeah, Fla.
OFDrew GilbertTennessee5-9185Jr.Stillwater, Minn.
DHTommy WhiteNC State6-0242Fr.St. Pete Beach, Fla.
UTPaul SkenesAir Force6-6235So.Lake Forest, Calif.
SPChase BurnsTennessee6-4205Fr.Gallatin, Tenn.
SPJustin CampbellOklahoma State6-7219So.Simi Valley, Calif.
SPChase DollanderTennessee6-3192So.Evans, Ga.
SPCooper HjerpeOregon State6-3200So.Capay, Calif.
SPParker MessickFlorida State6-0225r-So.Plant City, Fla.
SPAustin PetersonConnecticut6-6234Sr.Chesterton, Ind.
SPDrew ThorpeCal Poly6-4190So.Washington, Utah
RPWill BrianEastern Kentucky5-11220r-Jr.Brandenburg, Ky.
RPJack GowenGeorgia6-1220Sr.Folkston, Ga.
RPTyler GuilfoilKentucky6-4215Jr.Lexington, Ky.
RPTristan StevorsTexas State6-4220Sr.Castroville, Texas
RPAndrew WaltersMiami6-4220So.Palm Bay, Fla.
Second Team: C Daniel Susac, Arizona, So.; 1B Sonny DiChiara, Auburn, Sr.; 1B Matt Coutney, Old Dominion, Sr.; 2B Hogan Windish, UNCG, Jr.; 2B Max Grant, Canisius, So.; SS Tanner Schobel, Virginia Tech, So.; 3B Jacob Berry, LSU, So.; OF Wyatt Langford, Florida, So.; OF Andy Garriola, Old Dominion, Sr.; OF Carlos Contreras, Sam Houston, Jr.; OF Justin Boyd, Oregon State, So.; OF Jack Hurley, Virginia Tech, So.; DH Tyler Johnson, Coastal Carolina, Sr.; UT Devin Ortiz, Virginia, Gr.; UT Shemar Page, Grambling, Gr.; SP John Michael Bertrand, Notre Dame, Gr.; SP Drew Beam, Tennessee, Fr.; SP Jonathan Brand, Miami (Ohio), Sr.; SP Tanner Hall, Southern Miss, So.; SP Thomas Harrington, Campbell, So.; SP Gabriel Hughes, Gonzaga, So.; SP Alex Williams, Stanford, Sr.; RP Blake Burkhalter, Auburn, Jr.; RP Jackson Kelley, Mercer, Jr.; RP William Privette, Charleston, So.; RP Carter Spivey, East Carolina, Jr.; RP Redmond Walsh, Tennessee, Gr.
Third Team: C Brendan Tinsman, Wake Forest, r-Jr.; C Nick Cimillo, Rutgers, Fr., r-Jr.; 1B Tim Elko, Ole Miss, Sr.; 1B Michael Carico, Davidson, So.; 2B RJ Yeager, Mississippi State, Sr.; SS Zach Neto, Campbell, r-So.; 3B Jake Gelof, Virginia, So.; OF Jason Hinchman, Tennessee Tech, Sr.; OF Murphy Stehly, Texas, r-Sr.; OF Dylan Rock, Texas A&M, Gr.; OF Alex Tappen, Virginia, Gr.; OF Jake Thompson, Oklahoma State, Gr.; OF Guy Lipscomb, Belmont, So.; DH Noah Ledford, Georgia Southern, r-Jr.; DH David McCabe, Charlotte, So.; UT Jordan Hamberg, Coppin State, So.; SP Jonathan Cannon, Georgia, Jr.; SP Brett Gillis, Portland, Jr.; SP Pete Hansen, Texas, r-So.; SP Drue Hackenberg, Virginia Tech, Fr.; SP Rhett Lowder, Wake Forest, So.; SP Carson Palmquist, Miami, So.; SP Jason Savacool, Maryland, So.; RP Trey Braithwaite, West Virginia, Sr.; RP Cade Denton, Oral Roberts, So.; RP Cameron Foster, McNeese, r-Sr.; RP Ben Joyce, Tennessee, r-Jr.; RP Trevin Michael, Oklahoma, Gr.

For more information on the NCAA Division I All-America team, contact NCBWA Executive Associate Director Mike Montoro of West Virginia University at 304-293-2821.