Oregon State (38-9) tops NCBWA Division I Poll

DALLAS (NCBWA) – The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association continues its tradition of NCAA Division I polls for the 25th year with its 2022 weekly surveys.

Oregon State (38-9 overall) has replaced Tennessee at the top after the Volunteers were No. 1 for five consecutive weeks. The Beavers of coach Mitch Canham have taken a three-game lead over perennial power Stanford in the Pac-12 Conference standings with an 18-6 mark and had achieved a No. 2 ranking for their previous 2022 best mark. OSU joins Texas, Vanderbilt and Tennessee as holders of the No. 1 position in 13 NCBWA surveys to date.

Some of the big poll movers from Weeks 12 to 13 have been Louisville from No. 14 to 7, Stanford from No. 12 to 9, Texas A&M from No. 21 to 16, UC Santa Barbara from No. 25 to 21 and Grand Canyon making its first appearance in the NCBWA ratings at No. 26 after receiving votes previously, among others.

There have been 18 conferences (with 10 this week) represented in the first 13 standings of 2022, and there also were 14 different conferences in all the 2021 NCBWA polls.

The 2022 poll voters come from among 33 college baseball writers and related media members from throughout the nation. The ’22 season features 301 NCAA Division I baseball-playing schools and for more information or to join the NCBWA, please go to ncbwa.com.

1.Oregon StatePac-1238-92
3.Oklahoma StateBig 1234-133
5.Virginia TechACC33-105
8.Texas TechBig 1232-169
10.ConnecticutBig East40-810
11.GonzagaWest Coast29-1311
12.Southern MissConference USA36-125
14.MarylandBig Ten37-1015
15.Notre DameACC28-1016
16.Texas A&MSEC30-1621
17.Texas StateSun Belt38-1120
19.TexasBig 1234-1718
21.UC Santa BarbaraBig West33-1125
23.Florida StateACC28-1723
26.Grand CanyonWestern Athletic33-16RV
27.TCUBig 1228-1828
28.RutgersBig Ten37-1129
t30.Dallas BaptistMissouri Valley30-17RV
Others receiving votes (listed alphabetically): Abilene Christian (25-22), Ball State (32-14), Cal Poly (27-20), California Baptist (29-15), Campbell (30-14), Central Michigan (30-15), Clemson (31-17), Coastal Carolina (29-15-1), Davidson (37-9), East Carolina (30-18), Evansville (27-18), Florida (29-18), Georgia Southern (32-15), Georgia Tech (27-21), Kentucky (26-21), Liberty (30-16), Louisiana Tech (33-17), Mercer (35-12), NC State (30-15), North Carolina (27-18), Oklahoma (29-17), Old Dominion (31-13), Ole Miss (27-19), Sam Houston State (27-19), San Diego (30-16), Southern Illinois (34-13), UTSA (32-16), Wake Forest (33-14-1), Wofford (35-13).
Dropped out: Georgia Tech (30).
By conference: SEC 7, ACC 6, Pac-12 5, Big Ten 2, Big 12 4, Big East 1, Big West 1, Conference USA 1, Missouri Valley 1, Sun Belt 1.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Dick Howser Trophy, Regional Players of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors Division I Players of the Week, the Stopper of the Year, and publication and writing contests.