Vanderbilt (13-2) tops NCBWA Division I Poll

DALLAS (NCBWA) – The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association continues its tradition of NCAA Division I polls for the 25th year with its 2022 weekly surveys.

Preseason No. 1 Texas ended a four-poll reign at No. 1 while Vanderbilt edged ahead for the top spot. Ole Miss remains second nationally again this week.

Some of the big movers from Weeks Four to Five have been Georgia Tech from No. 12 to 8, North Carolina from No. 20 to 15, Texas State from receiving votes to 26, Kentucky from RV to 28, and Connecticut from RV to 30, among others.

There have been 17 conferences (with 10 this week) represented in the first five standings of 2022, and there also were 14 different conferences in all the 2021 NCBWA polls. Teams from the Sun Belt (Texas State) and Big East (Connecticut) made their initial 2022 advances in this week’s survey.

The 2022 poll voters come from among 33 college baseball writers and related media members from throughout the nation. The ’22 season features 301 NCAA Division I baseball-playing schools, and for more information or to join the NCBW, please go to

2.Ole MissSEC13-22
3.TexasBig 1213-41
5.Oregon StatePac-1211-26
5.Notre DameACC11-17
8.Georgia TechACC13-312
12.Texas TechBig 1214-315
13.Florida StateACC10-513
15.North CarolinaACC14-220
17.LibertyAtlantic Sun12-216
18.Oklahoma StateBig 129-611
21.TCUBig 1211-423
22.MarylandBig Ten12-225
23.Mississippi StateSEC10-724
24.GonzagaWest Coast11-428
25.Old DominionConference USA13-127
26.Texas StateSun Belt14-3RV
29.NC StateACC9-618
30.ConnecticutBig East11-2RV
Others receiving votes (listed alphabetically): Alabama (12-5), Arizona State (8-10), Auburn (13-4), BYU (8-5), California Baptist (10-4), Charlotte (10-5), Dallas Baptist (9-6), Davidson (12-3), Duke (9-7), Florida Atlantic (13-4), Florida Gulf Coast University (12-4), Georgia Southern (10-6), Jacksonville (11-5), Long Beach State (7-7), Louisiana Tech (11-5), Louisville (11-4), Memphis (9-4), Mercer (15-1), Missouri (11-2), Missouri State (7-7), Oklahoma (9-5), Oregon (10-6), Portland (11-4), Purdue (14-0), Rutgers (12-3), Sacramento State (9-7), SE Missouri State (13-1), South Carolina (9-6), Southern Miss (10-6), Troy (11-5), Tulane (10-6), UC Irvine (10-6), UC Santa Barbara (10-4), UCLA (10-6), USC (11-3), Utah (11-3-1), Virginia Tech (10-4), Wake Forest (13-3), Wichita State (8-8).
Dropped out: UCLA (22), Tulane (26), Wake Forest (30).
By conference: SEC 9, ACC 8,Big 12 4, Pac-12 3, Atlantic Sun 1, Big East 1, Big Ten 1, Conference USA 1, Sun Belt 1, West Coast 1.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Dick Howser Trophy, Regional Players of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors Division I Players of the Week, the Stopper of the Year, and publication and writing contests.