Texas (11-1) tops NCBWA Division I Poll

DALLAS (NCBWA) – The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association continues its tradition of NCAA Division I polls for the 25th year with its 2022 weekly surveys.

Preseason No. 1 Texas remains No. 1 for the fourth consecutive week after going 3-1 last week and seeing its winning streak ended at 11. Interestingly in this balanced season of college baseball, all Top 10 teams from last week’s poll suffered at least one defeat between Feb, 28-March 6.

Some of the big movers from Weeks Three to Four have been Oregon State from No. 9 to 6, Notre Dame from No. 13 to 7, Tennessee from No. 14 to 9, Florida from No. 16 to 10, Virginia from No. 23 to 17 and Georgia Tech from No. 19 to 12.

There have been 15 conferences (with nine this week) represented in the first three standings of 2022, and there also were 14 different conferences in all the 2021 NCBWA polls.

The 2022 poll voters come from among 33 college baseball writers and related media members from throughout the nation. The ’22 season features 301 NCAA Division I baseball-playing schools, and for more information or to join the NCBWA, please go to ncbwa.com.

1.TexasBig 1211-11
2.Ole MissSEC10-12
6.Oregon StatePac-129-19
7.Notre DameACC8-113
11.Oklahoma StateBig 126-48
12.Georgia TechACC10-219
13.Florida StateACC7-415
15.Texas TechBig 1210-221
16.LibertyAtlantic Sun10-122
18.N.C. StateACC8-44
20.North CarolinaACC11-127
23.TCUBig 128-317
24.Mississippi StateSEC6-612
25.MarylandBig Ten9-220
26.TulaneAmerican Athletic10-2RV
27.Old DominionConference USA9-126
28.GonzagaWest Coast8-2RV
30.Wake ForestACC11-0RV
Others receiving votes (listed alphabetically): Alabama (9-4), Arizona State (5-7), Arkansas State (4-5), Auburn (11-2), Baylor (6-5), BYU (7-3), California Baptist (7-3), Charlotte (7-4), Connecticut (8-1), Duke (6-5), East Carolina (6-5), Florida Gulf Coast University (10-2), Grand Canyon (7-4), Harvard (4-3), Kentucky (10-2), Long Beach State (4-6), Louisiana Tech (7-5), Louisville (8-3), Mercer (11-1), Michigan (7-5), Missouri (9-1), Northeastern (6-5), Oklahoma (5-5), Oral Roberts (9-2), Portland (8-3), Purdue (12-0), Rutgers (9-1), Sacramento State (8-4), San Jose State (8-4), SE Missouri State (9-1), South Alabama (8-2), South Carolina (7-4), Southern Miss (8-3), Tennessee Tech (10-0), Texas State (10-2), UC Santa Barbara (7-4), UCF (8-3), USC (9-2), UTSA (9-2), Virginia Tech (9-1), Wichita State (5-7).
Dropped out: Sacramento State (24), Long Beach State (28), Louisiana Tech (30).
By conference: ACC 9, SEC 8, Big 12 4, Pac-12 4, American Athletic 1, Atlantic Sun 1, Big Ten 1, Conference USA 1, West Coast 1.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Dick Howser Trophy, Regional Players of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors Division I Players of the Week, the Stopper of the Year, and publication and writing contests.