Texas tops NCBWA Division I Preseason Poll

DALLAS (NCBWA) – The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association continues its tradition of NCAA Division I polls for the 25th year with its 2022 inaugural and weekly surveys, and Texas rates No. 1 in the preseason poll ahead of No. 2 Vanderbilt and No. 3 Mississippi State.

This is the fourth time the Longhorns have received the NCBWA's preseason nod for pre-campaign No. 1 (2003, '06 and '10) and now hold the organization's record with four acclamations prior to the start of the schedule.

Interestingly, MSU won its first NCAA team championship in any sport by downing Vandy 2-1 in games for the '21 baseball title in Omaha, Nebraska. The Commodores previously captured NCAA diamond championships in 2014 and 2019 after receiving preseason top choices by the NCBWA in 2015, 2019 and 2020.

The Bulldogs also were the 18th different team to finish No. 1 in the NCBWA survey since the writers' group first made selections in 1998.

Other previous No. 1 entries on the preseason NCBWA rankings have been LSU (1998, ‘01 and '09), Southern California (1999), Miami (Fla.) (2000), Stanford (2002), Rice (2004, 07), Cal State Fullerton (2005, 14), Arizona State (2008), North Carolina (2009), TCU (2011, ‘17), Florida (2012, ‘18, ‘21), Arkansas (2013) and Vanderbilt (2015, 19, 20).

Returning teams besides MSU, Vandy and Texas from the 2021 NCAA College World Series again received high rankings in the pre-2022 Top 35 with Stanford at No. 5, Arizona at No. 10, NC State at No. 11, Tennessee at No. 16 and Virginia at No. 17. Arkansas was No. 1 in the 2021 NCBWA surveys for 12 weeks.

There are 12 conferences represented in the first 35-team survey with the Southeastern leading the way with eight squads among 301 schools competing in NCAA Division I. The Pac-12 Conference is next with five schools in the preseason poll. Last year there were 14 conferences with teams in the poll, and a record 19 conferences were represented in 2019 surveys.

A total of 83 schools (NCBWA poll record) received votes or are rated among the first Top 35 in ‘22, and 13 of the 14 SEC baseball teams (all except Missouri) were ranked or received notes.

1.Texas [15]Big 1250-174
2.Vanderbilt [7]SEC49-182
3.Mississippi State [3]SEC50-181
4.Arkansas [5]SEC50-139
5.Stanford [1]Pac-1239-175
6.Ole Miss [1]SEC45-2211
9.Notre DameACC34-1310
11.N.C. StateACC37-193
12.East CarolinaAmerican Athletic44-1713
13.Oklahoma StateBig 1236-19-127
14.Texas TechBig 1239-1715
15.Florida StateACC31-24RV
16.Tennessee [1]SEC50-188
18.Oregon StatePac-1237-2426
19.UC IrvineBig West43-1821
20.TCUBig 1241-1924
23.Dallas BaptistMissouri Valley41-1814
24.Georgia TechACC31-25RV
25.NebraskaBig Ten34-1420
27.Old DominionConference USA44-1617
29.Long Beach StateBig West28-15-
31.Southern MissConference USA40-2125
32.Louisiana TechConference USA42-2022
33.UC Santa BarbaraBig West41-20RV
34.GonzagaWest Coast34-1929
Others receiving votes (listed alphabetically): Abilene Christian (36-21), Alabama (32-26), Arizona State (33-22), Auburn (25-27), Baylor (31-20), Cal Poly (31-25), California (29-26), California Baptist (40-16), Campbell (37-18), Central Michigan (41-18), Charlotte (40-21), Clemson (25-27), Coastal Carolina (27-24), Connecticut (34-19), Creighton (24-15), Fairfield (39-5), Grand Canyon (39-21-1), Hawaii (17-26), Indiana (26-18), Indiana State (31-21), Iowa (26-18), Jackson State (32-9), Kansas State (34-23), Kentucky (29-23), Louisville (28-22), Maryland (30-18), Michigan (27-19), Middle Tennessee (24-29-1), Nevada (25-20), North Carolina (28-27), Northeastern (36-12), Oklahoma (27-28), Oral Roberts (31-23), Pepperdine (20-25), South Alabama (36-22), South Carolina (34-23), Stetson (26-23), Texas A&M (29-27), Troy (27-26), Tulane (31-24), USF (31-30), VCU (38-16), Virginia Tech (27-25), Wake Forest (20-27), Washington State (26-23), West Virginia (25-27), Wichita State (31-23), Xavier (28-26).
By conference: SEC 8, ACC 7, Pac-12 5, Big 12 3, Big West 3, Conference USA 3, American Athletic 1, ASUN 1, Big Ten 1, Mid-American 1, Missouri Valley 1, West Coast 1.
Records are from the 2021 season

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Dick Howser Trophy, Regional Players of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors Division I Players of the Week, the Stopper of the Year, and publication and writing contests.