DALLAS (FWAA) Minnesota fullback Jon Hoese is the weekly nominee for the 2010 Discover Orange Bowl Courage Award, to be announced at the end of the season by the Football Writers Association of America.

Hoese, a senior from Glencoe, Minn., is playing this season with a heavy heart after losing his father, Terry Hoese, who suffered a stroke Aug. 26 and passed away 11 days later.

After his father's stroke, Hoese missed a day of practice, then returned to the team a decision made with his family, believing his father would want him to play. In the Gophers' season opener at Middle Tennessee, he scored all three of Minnesota's touchdowns, caught a 23-yard pass to convert a third down and keep a drive alive, and recovered a late fourth-quarter fumble on a kickoff return to ice the victory. Given the game ball by Gophers coach Tim Brewster, Hoese gave it to his father.

Terry Hoese, who had been a fixture at games since his son made the team, died Sept. 6. He was 53. Jon missed practice that week, but returned to play that weekend against South Dakota one day after his father's funeral · and has continued to play.

"I know in a heartbeat, everyone on this team would do anything we could for Jon and his family," said Minnesota quarterback Adam Weber, who shares a house with Jon Hoese, to the Minneapolis Star-Tribune.

Hoese, a former walk-on who was elected captain this fall, began his career as a safety and has consistently made an impact on special teams. When Minnesota transitioned to a pro-style offense, he moved to fullback and won the starting job. His primary responsibility is blocking, but he has never lost a yard carrying the football.

Through five games this season, Hoese has 14 carries for 38 yards and three touchdowns and seven catches for 64 yards. He is on pace to graduate with a degree in business marketing.

For the fifth straight year, the Football Writers Association of America and the Discover Orange Bowl will announce a weekly nominee for the Discover Orange Bowl Courage Award each Wednesday during the season. A blue-ribbon panel will determine the award's recipient from those weekly nominees. The recipient of the Courage Award will be announced in December and presented with the trophy in conjunction with this year's Discover Orange Bowl.

The Courage Award was created by ESPN The Magazine's senior writer Gene Wojciechowski, also an FWAA member. A select group of FWAA members vote on the recipient each year. The requirements for nomination include displaying courage on or off the field, including overcoming an injury or physical handicap, preventing a disaster or living through hardship.

Previous winners of the FWAA's Courage Award are the Connecticut Huskies (2009), Tulsa's Wilson Holloway (2008), Navy's Zerbin Singleton (2007), Clemson's Ray Ray McElrathbey (2006), the Tulane Green Wave (2005), Memphis' Haracio Colen (2004), San Jose State's Neil Parry (2003) and Toledo's William Bratton (2002).

The Orange Bowl Committee is a not-for-profit, 343-member, primarily-volunteer organization. It is a self-sustaining, independent organization that supports and produces activities and events that enhance the image, economy and culture of South Florida. The Orange Bowl Festival features a year-round schedule of events culminating with the Discover Orange Bowl on January 3, 2011. Other OBC core events include the MetroPCS Orange Bowl Basketball Classic, Orange Bowl Youth Football Alliance presented by Sports Authority, Orange Bowl International Tennis Championships and Orange Bowl Sailing Regatta Series. For more information on the 2010-11 Orange Bowl Festival and its events, including promotional and volunteer opportunities through the Ambassador Program, visit www.orangebowl.org.

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization
founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,200 men and women who cover college football
for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists,
as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works
to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America
team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve
Richardson at tiger@fwaa.com or 972-713-6198.

2010 Orange Bowl Courage Award Nominees

Sept. 29: Zac Etheridge, Auburn and Rodney Scott,
Ole Miss

· Oct. 6: Jon Hoese, Minnesota

· Oct. 13: Marquez Herrod, Colorado

· Oct. 20: Matt Anderson, North Dakota State

· Oct. 27: Jamie Hampton, Troy

· Nov. 3: Ricky Dobbs, Navy

· Nov. 17: Andrew, Colter and Paul Phillips

· Nov. 24: Mississippi State Bulldogs

· Dec. 1: Eric LeGrand, Rutgers