ST. LOUIS (USBWA) The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has selected Kentucky forward Kevin Knox as its Oscar Robertson National Player of the Week for games ending the week of Sunday, Jan. 28. The USBWA's weekly honor is presented by Blue Ribbon College Basketball Yearbook.

As the Southeastern Conference Freshman of the Week, Knox was nominated for the weekly award, and then chosen by a representative of the USBWA board of directors from a list of Division I conference players of the week. This is the ninth season that the USBWA has selected a national player of the week.

A 6-9, 215-pound freshman from Tampa, Fla., Knox averaged 26.5 points and 6.5 rebounds in wins over Mississippi State and at No. 7 West Virginia. Knox's week included a career-high 34 points at West Virginia on Saturday, paced by a career-high five three-pointers. He shot a blazing 69.6 percent from the field and 75.0 percent from behind the arc and keyed the third-biggest halftime deficit (15 points) overcome in program history.

Knox is the first Kentucky player to score 30 or more points this season. The win at West Virginia was only the second in Kentucky's last 12 tries on the road against a top-10 opponent. Against Mississippi State, Knox was 4-for-4 on three-pointers as part of his 19 points and added six rebounds. He has a team-high six games of 20 or more points.

The USBWA also selected Knox as its Wayman Tisdale National Freshman of the Week. He is the second freshman, joining Oklahoma's Trae Young (Week ending Dec. 24), to earn both honors in the same week this season.

Since the 1958-59 season, the USBWA has named a National Player of the Year. In 1998, the award was named in honor of the University of Cincinnati Hall of Famer and two-time USBWA Player of the Year Oscar Robertson. It is the nation's oldest award and the only one named after a former player.

        Oscar Robertson TrophyAt the conclusion of the regular season, the USBWA will name finalists for the award, which is voted on by the entire membership.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. With some 900 members worldwide, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season. For more information on the USBWA and the Oscar Robertson Trophy, contact executive director Joe Mitch at 314-795-6821.

Blue Ribbon College Basketball Yearbook, the most comprehensive college basketball publication in the world, returns for its 37th season. Blue Ribbon long-known as "The Bible of College Basketball" · gives its readers the most thorough, up-to-date and timely evaluations of every Division I team in the country. For more information about Blue Ribbon Yearbooks, visit

2017-18 Oscar Robertson National Players of the Week

Week ending Dec. 3: Devonté Graham, Kansas (Big 12 Conference)

· Week ending Dec. 10: Shannon Evans II, Arizona State (Pac-12 Conference)

· Week ending Dec. 17: Trae Young, Oklahoma (Big 12 Conference)

· Week ending Dec. 24: Trae Young, Oklahoma (Big 12 Conference)

· Week ending Dec. 31: Kelan Martin, Butler (Big East Conference)

· Week ending Jan. 7: Keita Bates-Diop, Ohio State (Big Ten Conference)

· Week ending Jan. 14: Chandler Hutchison, Boise State (Mountain West Conference) and Luwane Pipkins, Massachusetts (Atlantic 10 Conference)

· Week ending Jan. 21: Jock Landale, St. Mary's (West Coast Conference)

· Week ending Jan. 28: Kevin Knox, Kentucky (Southeastern Conference)

· Week ending Feb. 4: Noah Dickerson, Washington (Pac-12 Conference)

· Week ending Feb. 11: Shamorie Ponds, St. John's (Big East Conference)

· Week ending Feb. 18: Matt Mobley, St. Bonaventure (Atlantic 10 Conference)

· Week ending Feb. 25: Carsen Edwards, Purdue (Big Ten Conference)