NCBWA announces 2023 Division I All-America Teams

DALLAS (NCBWA) – With some of nation’s most talented NCAA Division I players featured, the 2023 National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association’s 23rd Annual All-America first, second and third teams were revealed Wednesday.

There are 21 different conferences and 18 conference championship squads represented among the ’23 honorees. The three All-America squads are also made up of 12 conference players or co-players of the year, 14 conference pitchers of the year and two conference relief pitchers of the year.

All five finalists for the 2023 Dick Howser Trophy presented by The Game Headware grace the tabulations determined by two ballots of NCBWA members. They are sophomore 1B-P Jac Caglianone of Florida, junior OF Dylan Crews of LSU, junior SP Rhett Lowder of Wake Forest, junior SP Paul Skenes of LSU and sophomore 2B JJ Wetherholt of West Virginia.

These standouts join a cavalcade of collegiate stars from all eight teams competing in the NCAA World Series June 16-25/26 as well as standouts who paced their respective schools to NCAA berths in 2023 and in previous years.

Some of the highlighted standouts along with the finalists are Lowder with a nation-leading 15 pitching victories (15-0 record), Skenes with the most strokeouts in DI at 188, Caglianone with an NCAA-most 31 home runs, World Series-bound Cade Denton of Oral Roberts with a share of the national saves lead at 15, Wetherholt with the top batting average in DI at .449, Charlie Condon, Georgia’s National Freshman of the Year with a .386 average and 25 home runs, Virginia pitching ace Connelly Early at 12-2 and Florida Atlantic 1B Nolan Schanuel with a .447 average – two points behind Wetherholt for honors in that category.

Previous NCBWA All-America teams from 1996-2022 have featured the likes of P Stephen Strasburg of San Diego State, OF J.D. Drew of Florida State, P-DH Jason Jennings of Baylor, 1B Mark Teixeira of Georgia Tech, RHP Mark Prior of Southern California, SS Khalil Greene of Clemson, SS-2B Rickie Weeks of Southern, 3B Alex Gordon of Nebraska, P David Price of Vanderbilt, P-DH Brad Lincoln of Houston, C Buster Posey of Florida State, catcher Mike Zunino of Florida, 3B Kris Bryant of San Diego, P-1B A.J. Reed from Kentucky; OF Andrew Benintendi from Arkansas, OF Seth Beer of Clemson, UTIL Brendan McKay from Louisville, Florida P Brady Singer, Oregon State C Adley Rutschman, Arkansas RP Kevin Kopps and Texas 1B Ivan Melendez, among others.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. For more information about the NCBWA, visit the association's official Web site,

The Howser Trophy was created in 1987 shortly after Howser's death. Previous winners of the Howser Trophy are Mike Fiore, OF, Miami (Fla.), 1987; Robin Ventura, 3B, Oklahoma State, 1988; Scott Bryant, 1B-P, Texas, 1989; Alex Fernandez, P, Miami-Dade Community College South, 1990; Frank Rodriguez, P, Howard College (Texas), 1991; Brooks Kieschnick, UT-P, Texas, 1992 and 1993; Jason Varitek, C, Georgia Tech, 1994; Todd Helton, 1B, Tennessee, 1995; Kris Benson, P, Clemson, 1996; J. D. Drew, OF, Florida State, 1997; Eddy Furniss, 1B, LSU, 1998; Jason Jennings, UT-P, Baylor, 1999; Mark Teixeira, 1B, Georgia Tech, 2000; Mark Prior, P, USC, 2001, Khalil Greene, SS, Clemson, 2002; Rickie Weeks, 2B, Southern U., 2003; Jered Weaver, P, Long Beach State, 2004; Alex Gordon, 3B, Nebraska, 2005; Brad Lincoln, P/DH, Houston, 2006; David Price, P, Vanderbilt, 2007; Buster Posey, C, Florida State, 2008; Stephen Strasburg, P, San Diego State, 2009; Anthony Rendon, 3B, Rice, 2010; Taylor Jungmann, P, Texas, 2011; Mike Zunino, C, Florida, 2012; Kris Bryant, 3B, San Diego, 2013; A.J. Reed, DH-P, Kentucky, 2014; Andrew Benintendi, OF, Arkansas, 2015; Seth Beer, OF, Clemson, 2016; Brendan McKay, DH-P, Louisville, 2017; Brady Singer, P, Florida, 2018; Adley Rutschman, C, Oregon State, 2019; No Award, COVID-19, 2020; Kevin Kopps, P, Arkansas, 2021; Ivan Melendez, 1B, Texas, 2022.

For more information on the NCAA Division I All-America team, contact NCBWA Executive Associate Director Mike Montoro of West Virginia University at 304-293-2821.

2023 NCBWA Division I All-America Teams


  • C Kyle Teel, Virginia, So.*
  • 1B Jac Caglianone, Florida, So.
  • 2B JJ Wetherholt, West Virginia, So.*
  • SS Matt Shaw, Maryland, Jr.*
  • 3B Tommy White, LSU, So.
  • OF Dylan Crews, LSU, Jr.*
  • OF Ethan Petry, South Carolina, Fr.
  • OF Alberto Rios, Stanford, Jr.*
  • OF Wyatt Langford, Florida, Jr.
  • OF Charlie Condon, Georgia, Fr.
  • DH Billy Amick, Clemson, So.
  • UT Caden Grice, Clemson, Jr.
  • SP Paul Skenes, LSU, Jr.^
  • SP Rhett Lowder, Wake Forest, Jr.^ 
  • SP Tanner Hall, Southern Miss, Jr.^
  • SP Josh Hartle, Wake Forest, So.
  • SP Hagen Smith, Arkansas, So.
  • SP Quinn Matthews, Stanford, Sr.^
  • SP Connelly Early, Virginia, Jr.
  • RP Kyle Amendt, DBU, r-Jr.
  • RP Cade Denton, Oral Roberts, Jr.^
  • RP James Tallion, Duke, Fr.
  • RP Andrew Walters, Miami, Jr.
  • RP Tyson Neighbors, Kansas State, So.


  • C  Cole Messina, South Carolina, So.
  • 1B Nick Kurtz, Wake Forest, So.
  • 1B Nolan Schanuel, Florida Atlantic, Jr.*
  • 2B Max Anderson, Nebraska, Jr.
  • 2B Edward Felix, FGCU, So.
  • SS Brice Matthews, Nebraska, Jr.
  • SS Jacob Wilson, Grand Canyon, Jr.!
  • 3B Brock Wilken, Wake Forest, Jr.
  • 3B Jake Gelof, Virginia, Jr.
  • OF Jonah Cox, Oral Roberts, Jr.*
  • OF Chase Davis, Arizona, Sr.
  • OF Shane Lewis, Troy, r-So.*
  • OF Kemp Alderman, Ole Miss, Jr.
  • OF Lawson Harrill, Campbell, r-Jr.*
  • OF Cam Fisher, Charlotte, So.
  • DH Derek Bender, Coastal Carolina, Sr.
  • UT Payton Tolle, Wichita State, So.
  • UT Cole Mathis, Charleston, So.
  • SP Cade Kuehler, Campbell, Jr.
  • SP Sean Sullivan, Wake Forest, So.
  • SP Trey Yesavage, East Carolina, So.
  • SP Lucas Gordon, Texas, Jr.^
  • SP Grant Rogers, McNeese State, Jr.^
  • SP Omar Melendez, Alabama State, So.^
  • SP Diego Barrera, LMU, Grad.^
  • RP Mitchell Scott, Kent State, Grad.
  • RP Brandon Neely, Florida, So.
  • RP Camden Minacci, Wake Forest, Jr.
  • RP Simon Miller, UTSA, Jr.^
  • RP Teddy Sharkey, Coastal Carolina, Jr.


  • C Ben McCabe, UCF, r-Sr.
  • C Grant Jay, DBU, Fr.
  • 1B Brock Vradenburg, Michigan State, Jr.
  • 1B Alejandro Figueredo, FGCU, Sr.
  • 2B Travis Bazzana, Oregon State, So.
  • SS Bryce Arnold, Campbell, Jr.
  • SS Josh Rivera, Florida, Jr.
  • 3B Nick Lorusso, Maryland, Jr.
  • 3B Austin Deming, BYU, Sr.+
  • OF Enrique Bradfield Jr., Vanderbilt, Jr.
  • OF Dylan Campbell, Texas, Jr.
  • OF Matt Hogan, Oral Roberts, r-Sr.
  • OF Angelo Dispigna, Georgia Tech, Sr.
  • OF Daalen Adderly, Texas Southern, Jr.*
  • OF Nolan Schubart, Oklahoma State, Fr.
  • DH EthAdaman Mann, DBU, r-Jr.
  • DH Joe Kinker, FGCU, Grad.
  • UT Justin Murray, Houston, Jr.
  • SP Ryan Johnson, DBU, So.
  • SP Connor Fenlong, Indiana State, r-Sr.^
  • SP Jackson Wells, Little Rock, So.^
  • SP Jacob Cravey, Samford, Jr.^
  • SP Brody Brecht, Iowa, So.
  • SP Matt Ager, UC Santa Barbara, So.
  • SP Kelly Austin, UCLA, Sr.
  • RP Seth Keener, Wake Forest, Jr.
  • RP Isaac Stebens, Oklahoma State, Jr.
  • RP AJ Russell, Tennessee, Fr.
  • RP Hudson Barrett, UC Santa Barbara
  • RP Nick Maldonado, Vanderbilt, Sr.
  • RP Dalton Kendrick, Memphis, Jr.

* Conference player of the year
+ Conference co-player of the year
^ Conference pitcher of the year
! Conference defensive player of the year

Complete release with season statistics (.pdf)