Wake Forest (47-10) tops NCBWA Division I Poll

DALLAS (NCBWA) – The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association continues its tradition of NCAA Division I polls for the 25th year with its 2023 weekly surveys. 

Wake Forest remained at No. 1 for the third week in a row after LSU topped the poll for the first 12 Division I surveys this spring and is seeded No. 1 for the NCAA Championship. 

All 16 of the Top 30 teams are hosting NCAA Regionals starting Friday, June 2-Sunday/Monday, June 5/6, with hopes of making the NCAA Super Regionals June 9-12. 2023 first round hosts’ sites were determined by the Top 16 NCAA Ratings Percentage Index. 

Some of the big movers from Weeks 15 to 16 of the regular-season surveys have been Vanderbilt from No. 3 to 6, Clemson from No. 9 to 6, Campbell from No. 14 to 10, South Carolina from No. 19 to 16, Maryland from No. 24 to 19, and Oregon and TCU from receiving votes into Top 30 positions, among others. 

There have been 15 conferences (11 this week) represented in the first 16 weeks standings of 2023, and there were 14 different conferences in the 2022 NCBWA polls. 

The 2023 poll voters come from among 35 college baseball writers and related media persons from throughout the nation. The ’23 season features 305 NCAA Division I baseball-playing schools, and for more information or to join the NCBWA, please go to ncbwa.com. 

1.Wake ForestACC47-101
9.Coastal CarolinaSun Belt39-198
10.CampbellBig South44-1314
12.East CarolinaAmerican Athletic45-1711
13.ConnecticutBig East43-157
14.DBUConference USA45-1416
15.Oklahoma StateBig 1241-1817
16.South CarolinaSEC39-1919
17.Southern MissSun Belt41-1721
19.MarylandBig Ten41-1924
21.Oregon StatePac-1239-1813
23.Indiana StateMissouri Valley42-1528
25.West VirginiaBig 1239-1817
28.TCUBig 1237-22RV
29.Boston CollegeACC35-1820
30.Texas A&MSEC36-25RV
Others receiving votes: Alabama State (41-18), Arizona State (32-23), Army (38-16), Bethune-Cookman (33-27), Cal State Fullerton (31-22), Charlotte (34-26), FGCU (42-18), Florida A&M (29-28), Indiana (41-18), Iowa (38-14), Kent State (40-16), Lipscomb (36-24), Louisiana (40-22), North Carolina (35-22), Northeastern (44-14), Oral Roberts (46-11), Samford (36-23), San Jose State (31-25), Santa Clara (35-18), Texas (38-20), Texas Tech (39-21), UC Irvine (38-17), UC San Diego (34-18), UNCW (34-21), UTSA (38-19), Xavier (37-23)
Dropped out: Texas (25), Oral Roberts (29), Texas Tech (30).
By conference: SEC 10, ACC 6, Big 12 3, Pac-12 3, Sun Belt 2, American Athletic 1, Big East 1, Big South 1, Big Ten 1, Conference USA 1, Missouri Valley 1.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Dick Howser Trophy, Regional Players of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors Division I Players of the Week, the Stopper of the Year, and publication and writing contests.