Angelo State, North Greenville are tied atop NCBWA Division II Poll

PEMBROKE, N.C. (NCBWA) – Defending national champion North Greenville got some company atop the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) Division II Top 25 on Wednesday afternoon as Angelo State hauled in 11 first-place votes this week to nestle itself beside the Crusaders in the No. 1 spot.

North Greenville claimed all nine of the remaining first-place votes to stay on top of the ranking for a record-tying 18th-straight week, however. The Crusaders current reign at No. 1 matches a superlative established by Tampa who held on to No. 1 for all 13 polls during the 2014 campaign, and then staked claim to No. 1 for the first five polls of the 2015 season as well.

Wednesday’s ranking marks the first time since May 4, 2022 (Week 12) that a team other than North Greenville has staked claim to at least a share of the No. 1 ranking. Then-defending national champion Wingate was No. 1 for Week Nos. 10-12 before conceding to the Crusaders. Angelo State is back in the No. 1 spot for the first time since Week 4 (March 11) of the pandemic-shortened 2020 season.

Three teams – Belmont Abbey (No. 19), East Stroudsburg (22) and Azusa Pacific (24) – reentered Wednesday’s national ranking after varying lengths of absences. Maryville (Mo.) checked in to the No. 25 spot this week – the first national ranking for the Saints in the 21-year history of the NCBWA Division II Top 25.

Rk.School [1st place]LocationRecordPts.Pvs.
t1.Angelo State [11]San Angelo, Texas47-84892
t1.North Greenville [9]Tigerville, S.C.44-84891
3.TampaTampa, Fla.40-94573
4.Central MissouriWarrensburg, Mo.41-134284
5.Colorado MesaGrand Junction, Colo.45-94085
6.QuincyQuincy, Ill.44-94066
7.MillersvilleMillersville, Pa.40-83707
8.NewberryNewberry, S.C.41-133339
9.Cal State Monterey BaySeaside, Calif.36-1631612
t10.Missouri Southern StateJoplin, Mo.42-1530811
t10.Southern New HampshireManchester, N.H,37-1130810
12.West FloridaPensacola, Fla.37-1530015
13.Seton HillGreensburg, Pa.44-1022916
14.St. Edward'sAustin, Texas39-1522114
15.Southern ArkansasMagnolia, Ark.39-1620818
16.Illinois-SpringfieldSpringfield, Ill.35-1320219
17.Cal State San BernardinoSan Bernardino, Calif.38-1719721
18.MontevalloMontevallo, Ark.38-1416723
19.Belmont AbbeyBelmont, N.C.38-16115NR
20.RollinsWinter Park, Fla.34-16968
21.UT TylerTyler, Texas37-179122
22.East StroudsburgEast Stroudsburg, Pa.35-1274RV
23.Mount OliveMount Olive, N.C.36-1554T24
24.Azusa PacificAzusa, Calif.34-1745RV
25.MaryvilleSt. Louis, Mo.34-1838NR
Also receiving votes: MSU Denver (42-12) 32; Ouachita Baptist (37-17) 30; Goldey-Beacom (34-18) 28; Wayne State (Mich.) (42-11) 27; Charleston (W. Va.) (43-10) 13; Point Loma (36-14) 8; Valdosta State (33-18) 4; Augustana (S.D.) (42-18) 3; Le Moyne (31-19) 3; Northwood (41-17) 1.
Dropped out: Wayne State (Mich.) (13); Point Loma (17); Young Harris (20); Charleston (W. Va.) (24).

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Dick Howser Trophy, Regional Players of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors Division I Players of the Week, the Stopper of the Year, and publication and writing contests.