Wake Forest (39-7) tops NCBWA Division I Poll

DALLAS (NCBWA) – The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association continues its tradition of NCAA Division I polls for the 25th year with its 2023 weekly surveys.

Wake Forest displaced preseason-May 1 poll No. 1 choice LSU for the first time this season in the Demon Deacons first No. 1 ranking in the 25-year history of the NCBWA survey. The Tigers are No. 2 nationally this week. 

Some of the big movers from Weeks 12 to 13 of the regular-season surveys are Arkansas from No. 6 to 3, Stanford from No. 7 to 4, Miami (Fla.) from No. 17 to 14, Clemson from receiving votes to No. 21, UTSA from No. 25 to 22, Oklahoma State from No. 26 to 23, Maryland from No. 28 to 25, and Alabama, Indiana State and Southern Miss from receiving votes into the Top 30, among others. 

There have been 14 conferences (11 this week) represented in the standings of 2023, and there were 14 different conferences in the 2022 NCBWA polls. 

The 2023 poll voters come from among 35 college baseball writers and related media persons from throughout the nation. The ’23 season features 305 NCAA Division I baseball-playing schools, and for more information or to join the NCBWA, please go to ncbwa.com. 

1.Wake ForestACC39-72
7.South CarolinaSEC36-114
8.CampbellBig South36-1010
9.ConnecticutBig East35-119
10.Coastal CarolinaSun Belt30-168
11.East CarolinaAmerican Athletic34-1411
13.West VirginiaBig 1236-1215
17.Dallas BaptistConference USA36-1212
18.Oregon StatePac-1233-1420
20.Boston CollegeACC30-1618
22.UTSAConference USA36-1225
23.Oklahoma StateBig 1233-1426
24.Texas TechBig 1232-1624
25.MarylandBig Ten33-1628
27.Arizona StatePac-1229-1821
29.Southern MissSun Belt32-15RV
30.Indiana StateMissouri Valley32-13RV
Others receiving votes (listed alphabetically): Alabama State (33-15), Army (34-15), Auburn (27-19-1), Cal State Fullerton (28-15), Elon (28-18), Florida Gulf Coast (35-12), Georgia (27-21), Houston (28-19), Indiana (34-14), Iowa (30-12), Kansas State (31-18), Louisville (29-18), N.C. State (31-15), North Carolina (29-17), Northeastern (36-9), Oral Roberts (36-11), Texas (32-17), Texas A&M (28-20), Texas State (33-16), UC Irvine (30-14), UC Santa Barbara (30-14), UCLA (24-19-1), UNCW (27-17), USC (27-20-1), Xavier (30-17).
Dropped out: Louisville (22), Texas (27), Cal State Fullerton (29), Northeastern (30).
By conference: SEC 8, ACC 6, Pac-12 4, Big 12 3, Conference USA 2, Sun Belt 2, American Athletic 1, Big East 1, Big South 1, Big Ten 1, Missouri Valley 1.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Dick Howser Trophy, Regional Players of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors Division I Players of the Week, the Stopper of the Year, and publication and writing contests.