LSU (29-6) tops NCBWA Division I Poll

DALLAS (NCBWA) – The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association continues its tradition of NCAA Division I polls for the 25th year with its 2023 weekly surveys.

Preseason No. 1 LSU continues its college dominance and is atop the poll for the 10th consecutive time in ‘23.

Some of the big movers from Weeks Nine to 10 of the regular-season surveys are East Carolina from No. 9 to 6, Campbell from No. 16 to 11, Coastal Carolina from No. 18 to 13, Texas from No. 19 to 15, Miami (Fla.) from 24 to 20, Connecticut from No. 22 to 16, Arizona State from No. 23 to 19, DBU from No. 29 to 23, Oregon from No. 30 to 25, and Oregon State from receiving votes to No. 27, among others.

There have been 13 conferences (11 this week) represented in the first 10 standings of 2023, and there were 14 different conferences in the 2022 NCBWA polls. 

The 2023 poll voters come from among 35 college baseball writers and related media persons from throughout the nation. The ’23 season features 305 NCAA Division I baseball-playing schools, and for more information or to join the NCBWA, please go to 

2.Wake ForestACC31-52
6.East CarolinaAmerican Athletic28-89
7.South CarolinaSEC30-67
11.CampbellBig South27-816
13.Coastal CarolinaSun Belt23-1118
14.North CarolinaACC24-1213
15.TexasBig 1226-1219
16.ConnecticutBig East26-922
17.Boston CollegeACC24-1114
18.Texas TechBig 1225-1220
19.Arizona StatePac-1225-1023
20.Miami (FL)ACC22-1324
23.DBUConference USA27-929
24.FGCUAtlantic Sun27-915
26.Oklahoma StateBig 1224-1317
27.Oregon StatePac-1224-11RV
28.UTSAConference USA28-8RV
29.West VirginiaBig 1225-1125
30.IndianaBig Ten25-11RV
Others receiving votes (listed alphabetically): Abilene Christian (24-11), Alabama (26-11), Alabama State (24-12), Army (24-12), Bethune-Cookman (20-14), Cal State Fullerton (19-11), College of Charleston (22-13), CSU Northridge (21-9), Duke (23-12), Elon (23-12), Indiana State (22-12), Iowa (22-9), Kansas State (24-14), Louisiana (25-12), Mississippi State (22-15), NC State (24-11), Northeastern (28-7), Oral Roberts (27-10), Southern Miss (22-12), TCU (22-14), Texas A&M (22-14), UC Santa Barbara (22-11), UNCW (21-13), USC (21-13-1), Virginia Tech (21-12), Washington (20-11), Xavier (22-14)
Dropped out: USC (26), TCU (27), Texas A&M (28).
By conference: SEC 7, ACC 6, Pac-12 5, Big 12 4, Conference USA 2, American Athletic 1, Atlantic Sun 1, Big East 1, Big South 1, Big Ten 1, Sun Belt 1.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Dick Howser Trophy, Regional Players of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors Division I Players of the Week, the Stopper of the Year, and publication and writing contests.