LSU (26-5) tops NCBWA Division I Poll

DALLAS (NCBWA) – The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association continues its tradition of NCAA Division I polls for the 25th year with its 2023 weekly surveys.

Preseason No. 1 LSU continues its college dominance and is atop the poll for the ninth consecutive time in ‘23.

Some of the big movers from Weeks Eight to Nine of the regular-season surveys have been East Carolina from No. 12 to 9, Louisville from No. 14 to 10, North Carolina from No. 16 to 13, Texas from No. 24 to 19, Arizona State from receiving votes to No. 23, USC from receiving votes to No. 26 and TCU from receiving votes to No. 27, among others.

There have been 13 conferences (11 this week) represented in the first nine standings of 2023, and there were 14 different conferences in the 2022 NCBWA polls.

The 2023 poll voters come from among 35 college baseball writers and related media persons from throughout the nation. The ’23 season features 305 NCAA Division I baseball-playing schools, and for more information or to join the NCBWA, please go to 

t2.Wake ForestACC28-42
7.South CarolinaSEC28-46
9.East CarolinaAmerican24-812
13.North CarolinaACC22-1016
14.Boston CollegeACC21-910
15.FGCUAtlantic Sun26-617
16.CampbellBig South24-613
17.Oklahoma StateBig 1223-1015
18.Coastal CarolinaSun Belt20-920
19.TexasBig 1223-1024
20.Texas TechBig 1222-1019
22.ConnecticutBig East22-821
23.Arizona StatePac-1223-9RV
24.Miami (Fla.)ACC20-1218
25.West VirginiaBig 1223-922
27.TCUBig 1220-12RV
28.Texas A&MSEC20-1229
29.DBUConference USA23-9RV
Others receiving votes (listed alphabetically): Abilene Christian (23-8), Alabama (23-10), Alabama State (21-12), Ball State (23-8), Cal State Fullerton (16-10), Duke (20-11), Elon (21-10), Indiana (22-10), Iowa (19-8), Long Beach State (20-10), Louisiana (23-9), Loyola-Marymount (17-12), Maryland (19-12), NC State (20-11), Northeastern (25-6), Old Dominion (23-8), Oral Roberts (23-10), Oregon State (20-11), Sam Houston State (20-13), UC Santa Barbara (19-9), UNCW (19-11), UTSA (24-8), Virginia Tech (18-11), Washington (19-10), Xavier, Ohio (20-12).
Dropped out: UC Santa Barbara (25), UTSA (27), Iowa (28), NC State (30).
By conference: SEC 8, ACC 6, Big 12 5, Pac-12 5, American Athletic 1, Atlantic Sun 1, Big East 1, Big South 1, Conference USA 1, Sun Belt 1.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Dick Howser Trophy, Regional Players of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors Division I Players of the Week, the Stopper of the Year, and publication and writing contests.