LSU (21-3) tops NCBWA Division I Poll

DALLAS (NCBWA) – The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association continues its tradition of NCAA Division I polls for the 25th year with its 2023 weekly surveys.

Preseason No. 1 LSU continues its college dominance and is atop the poll for the seventh consecutive week.

Some of the big movers from Weeks Five to Six of the regular-season surveys have been Campbell from No. 18 to 15, Kentucky from No. 24 to 16, Boston College from No. 20 to 17, UC Santa Barbara from No. 23 to 20, Boston College from No. 20 to 17, Iowa from No. 28 to 21, Texas from not rated to No. 24, Connecticut from receiving votes to No. 26, and Coastal Carolina from receiving votes to No. 28, among others.

There have been 12 conferences (10 this week) represented in the first four standings of 2023, and there were 14 different conferences in the 2022 NCBWA polls.

The 2023 poll voters come from among 34 college baseball writers and related media persons from throughout the nation. The ’23 season features 305 NCAA Division I baseball-playing schools, and for more information or to join the NCBWA, please go to

3.Wake ForestACC22-3
7.South CarolinaSEC23-2
9.East CarolinaAmerican Athletic19-511 
13.Oklahoma StateBig 1220-516 
14.North CarolinaACC18-615 
15.CampbellBig South19-318 
17.Boston CollegeACC17-520 
19.Texas TechBig 1218-714 
20.UC Santa BarbaraBig West17-423 
21.IowaBig Ten16-328 
22.Ole MissSEC15-913 
24.TexasBig 1218-7NR 
25.West VirginiaBig 1218-626 
26.ConnecticutBig East16-5RV 
27.TCUBig 1215-930 
28.Coastal CarolinaSun Belt14-7RV 
30.Texas A&MSEC15-919
Others receiving votes (listed alphabetically): Alabama (19-6), Arizona State (16-8), Auburn (16-7-1), Ball State (17-6), DBU (16-8), Duke (15-9), Elon (16-8), Florida State (12-12), Fresno State (13-9), Georgia (15-9), Grand Canyon (15-8), Kansas State (17-8), Louisiana (18-7), Maryland (14-9), NC State (17-7), New Mexico (14-8), Northeastern (17-4), Notre Dame (12-9), Old Dominion (20-4), Oregon (15-7), Oregon State (15-9), Portland (16-7), Sam Houston State (15-10), Southern Miss (14-9), UC San Diego (15-6), USC (14-8-1), UTSA (20-5), Washington (16-6), Wofford (17-6).
Dropped out: Alabama (25), Grand Canyon (27), NC State (29).
By conference: SEC 10, ACC 6, Big 12 5, Pac-12 2, American Athletic 1, ASUN 1, Big East 1, Big South 1, Big Ten 1, Big West 1, Sun Belt 1.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Dick Howser Trophy, Regional Players of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors Division I Players of the Week, the Stopper of the Year, and publication and writing contests.