North Greenville (20-2) tops NCBWA Division II Poll

PEMBROKE, N.C. (NCBWA) – Defending national champion North Greenville continued its perch atop the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) Division II Top 25 on Wednesday afternoon as the Crusaders raked in all 20 available first place votes to lay claim to No. 1 for the ninth-straight poll.

The top four remained the same in this week’s edition of the ranking, with Tampa, Angelo State and Cal State San Bernardino occupying the Nos. 2 through 4 spots, respectively. Illinois-Springfield climbed three spots in this week’s release to round out the top 5.

Missouri Southern State is the week’s biggest mover as the Lions vaulted all the way up to the No. 11 spot following a weekend home sweep of then-No. 5 Central Oklahoma, while Colorado Mesa (No. 24) re-entered the ranking after a two-week absence after taking three games of their four-game home set with then-No. 13 MSU Denver.

Three teams made their season debut in Wednesday’s national ranking, including Florida Southern who is amid the nation’s top 25 teams for the first time since March 28, 2018 (Week 6). UIndy, the nation's last remaining unbeaten squad, checked into this week's poll at No. 21 - the first national ranking for the Greyhounds since Week 6 of the 2018 campaign as well.

Rk.School [1st place]LocationRecordPts.Pvs.
1.North Greenville [20]Tigerville, S.C.20-25001
2.TampaTampa, Fla.17-34752
3.Angelo StateSan Angelo, Texas21-34653
4.Cal State San BernardinoSan Bernardino, Calif.15-24274
5.Illinois-SpringfieldSpringfield, Ill.14-43928
6.MontevalloMontevallo, Ala.17-43757
7.Lenoir-RhyneHickory, N.C.20-536614
8.MillersvilleMillersville, Pa.18-435312
9.Columbus StateColumbus, Ga.17-43076
10.Southern New HampshireManchester, N.H.10-4291T9
11.Missouri Southern StateJoplin, Mo.16-6279NR
12.St. Edward'sAustin, Texas16-526319
13.Hawaii HiloHilo, Hawaii15-422916
14.Southern ArkansasMagnolia, Ark.14-7211T9
15.QuincyQuincy, Ill.11-319623
16.UNC PembrokePembroke, N.C.18-419221
17.West GeorgiaCarrollton, Ga.16-417715
18.East StroudsburgEast Stroudsburg, Pa.13-315818
19.Florida SouthernLakeland, Fla.14-4146RV
20.Arkansas TechRussellville, Ark.16-711620
21.IndianapolisIndianapolis, Ind.11-0103NR
22.Cal Poly PomonaPomona, Calif.13-58924
23.NewberryNewberry, S.C.18-474RV
24.Colorado MesaGrand Junction, Colo.11-772RV
25.West ChesterWest Chester, Pa.10-45225
Also receiving votes: Franklin Pierce (9-4) 44; Rollins (15-5) 38; Point Loma (11-7) 27; Wayne State (Mich.) (11-2) 16; West Texas A&M (16-6) 16; USC Aiken (17-5) 14; Central Missouri (14-7) 10; New Haven (9-2) 7; Valdosta State (14-8) 5; Minnesota State (10-4) 1; MSU Denver (16-5) 1.
Dropped out: Central Oklahoma (5); Point Loma (11); MSU Denver (13); Molloy (17); Valdosta State (22).

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Dick Howser Trophy, Regional Players of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors Division I Players of the Week, the Stopper of the Year, and publication and writing contests.