North Greenville (17-2) tops NCBWA Division II Poll

PEMBROKE, N.C. (NCBWA) – A midweek road loss did nothing to dampen defending national champion North Greenville’s reign atop the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) Division II Top 25 Poll on Wednesday afternoon, as the Crusaders raked in all 20 first-place votes to assume their perch atop the ranking for the eighth-straight week.

The Crusaders’ 8-week reign atop the poll extends back into Week 14 of the 2022 campaign, and is tied for the fourth-longest perch atop the NCBWA Division II Top 25 in the 21-year history of the ranking. Tampa occupied the No. 1 spot for 18 weeks during the 2013 and 2014 seasons.

North Greenville ranks among NCAA Division II’s top-15 teams in seven statistical categories, including the nation’s 6th-best hit total and 15th-best home run tally. The Crusaders are averaging 9.5 runs per game heading into this weekend’s Conference Carolinas home series against Erskine.

Two teams – East Stroudsburg (No. 18) and Quincy (No. 23) – re-entered the national rankings this week after varying lengths of absences. Arkansas Tech checked into the poll at No. 20 – its first appearance in the NCBWA Top 25 since Week 1 (February 16) last season.

Rk.School [1st place]LocationRecordPts.Pvs.
1.North Greenville [20]Tigerville, S.C.17-25001
2.TampaTampa, Fla.13-34632
3.Angelo StateSan Angelo, Texas17-34563
4.Cal State San BernardinoSan Bernardino, Calif.13-14335
5.Central OklahomaEdmond, Okla.13-240110
6.Columbus StateColumbus, Ga.14-33886
7.MontevalloMontevallo, Ala.15-23758
8.Illinois-SpringfieldSpringfield, Ill.9-333612
t9.Southern ArkansasMagnolia, Ark.12-53114
t9.Southern New HampshireManchester, N.H.7-13119
11.Point LomaSan Diego, Calif.8-329611
12.MillersvilleMillersville, Pa.15-429216
13.MSU DenverDenver, Colo.15-327313
14.Lenoir-RhyneHickory, N.C.16-520324
15.West GeorgiaCarrollton, Ga.13-317825
16.Hawaii HiloHilo, Hawaii10-217023
17.MolloyRockville Centre, N.Y.6-114919
18.East StroudsburgEast Stroudsburg, Pa.11-2145RV
19.St. Edward'sAustin, Texas12-513022
20.Arkansas TechRussellville, Ark.14-5124NR
21.UNC PembrokePembroke, N.C.13-412118
22.Valdosta StateValdosta, Ga.13-59917
23.QuincyQuincy, Ill.8-389RV
24.Cal Poly PomonaPomona, Calif.10-38215
25.West ChesterWest Chester, Pa.8-3637
Also receiving votes: Indianapolis (6-0) 26; Colorado Mesa (9-6) 18; Franklin Pierce (4-1) 13; Newberry (14-4) 13; Minnesota State (7-3) 12; Florida Southern (11-4) 9; Ashland (5-1) 5; Rollins (11-4) 3; UT Tyler (13-7) 2; Southern Connecticut State (4-2) 1.
Dropped out: Wingate (14); Henderson State (20); Drury (21).

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Dick Howser Trophy, Regional Players of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors Division I Players of the Week, the Stopper of the Year, and publication and writing contests.