North Greenville (13-1) tops NCBWA Division II Poll

PEMBROKE, N.C. (NBCWA) – Despite absorbing its first setback of the season via a road loss inside league play, defending national champion North Greenville continued its 7-week reign atop the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) Top 25 poll on Wednesday, raking in all 19 of the available first-place votes in the process.

The Crusaders saw their 19-game multi-season win streak come to a close with a 6-3 setback in the series finale at Conference Carolinas foe Francis Marion on Saturday, but held on to No. 1 thanks to losses by a handful of others among the top 5. MSU Denver proved to be the biggest mover in this week’s national ranking as the Roadrunners tacked up 36 runs in a weekend sweep of Mary to propel a 10-spot jump up to No. 13.

Hawaii Hilo jumped back into Wednesday’s national ranking, and was joined by three teams making their season debuts. Henderson State (No. 20) and Drury (No. 21) are back in the national spotlight for the first time since late-season appearance in 2022. West Georgia makes its first appearance in the NCBWA Top 25 since Feb. 21, 2018 (Week 1).

Rk.School [1st place]LocationRecordPts.Pvs.
1.North Greenville [19]Tigerville, S.C.13-14751
2.TampaTampa, Fla.10-24414
3.Angelo StateSan Angelo, Texas13-34362
4.Southern ArkansasMagnolia, Ark.10-34253
5.Cal State San BernardinoSan Bernardino, Calif.9-1387T6
6.Columbus StateColumbus, Ga.11-33705
7.West ChesterWest Chester, Pa.6-13398
8.MontevalloMontevallo, Ala.12-133710
9.Southern New HampshireManchester, N.H.7-13189
10.Central OklahomaEdmond, Okla.11-228113
11.Point LomaSan Diego, Calif.8-327511
12.Illinois-SpringfieldSpringfield, Ill.8-326212
13.MSU DenverDenver, Colo.12-223423
14.WingateWingate, N.C.11-421622
15.Cal Poly PomonaPomona, Calif.8-120616
16.MillersvilleMillersville, Pa.10-318218
17.Valdosta StateValdosta, Ga.10-415824
18.UNC PembrokePembroke, N.C.10-313914
19.MolloyRockville Centre, N.Y.6-113220
20.Henderson StateArkadelphia, Ark.10-4114RV
21.DrurySpringfield, Mo.9-2101RV
22.St. Edward'sAustin, Texas9-49315
23.Hawaii HiloHilo, Hawaii10-264RV
24.Lenoir-RhyneHickory, N.C.13-45625
25.West GeorgiaCarrollton, Ga.9-335NR
Also receiving votes: East Stroudsburg (8-2) 30; Northwood (6-1) 22; Minnesota State (4-1) 9; Franklin Pierce (4-1) 7; Quincy (4-3) 7; San Francisco State (9-2) 7; UT Tyler (10-6) 7; Colorado Mesa (6-5) 5; Florida Southern (9-4) 4; Newberry (12-3) 3.
Dropped out: Colorado Mesa (t6); West Florida (17); Quincy (19); Rogers State (21).

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Dick Howser Trophy, Regional Players of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors Division I Players of the Week, the Stopper of the Year, and publication and writing contests.