LSU (6-1) tops NCBWA Division I Poll

DALLAS (NCBWA) – The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association continues its tradition of NCAA Division I polls for the 25th year with its 2023 weekly surveys. 

Preseason No. 1 LSU is off to a 6-1 start and ranks atop the poll for the third consecutive week. 

Some of the big movers from weeks two to three have been Tennessee from No. 11 to 6, East Carolina from 12 to 9, Virginia from No. 17 to 11, Virginia Tech from 18 to 14, Texas Tech from No. 20 to 16, Florida State from No. 30 to 23, and Miami (Fla.) from No. 23 to 17, among others. Georgia Tech also made its first appearance in the NCBWA  Top 30 poll this week. 

There have been 10 conferences (nine this week) represented in the first two standings of 2023, and there were 14 different conferences in the 2022 NCBWA polls. 

The 2023 poll voters come from among 34 college baseball writers and related media persons from throughout the nation. The ’23 season features 305 NCAA Division I baseball-playing schools, and for more information or to join the NCBWA, please go to 

3.Wake ForestACC9-06
5.Ole MissSEC6-15
9.East CarolinaAmerican Athletic5-112
12.TCUBig 124-38
14.Virginia TechACC5-218
15.Texas A&MSEC4-34
16.Texas TechBig 128-020
18.Oklahoma StateBig 124-319
19.North CarolinaACC4-314
20.N.C. StateACC7-022
22.Southern MissSun Belt5-215
23.Florida StateACC6-130
24.South CarolinaSEC8-025
25.MarylandBig Ten3-416
26.Oregon StatePac-126-126
28.Grand CanyonWestern Athletic6-229
29.UC Santa BarbaraBig West5-2RV
30.Georgia TechACC7-0RV
Others receiving votes (listed alphabetically): App. State (7-0), Arizona (4-3), Arizona State (5-2), Boston College (5-1), California (6-1), Campbell (6-1), Coastal Carolina (4-3), CSU Northridge (4-1), DBU (7-0), FGCU (7-1), Florida Atlantic (6-1), Georgetown (6-2), Georgia (5-2), Illinois (4-3), Iowa (5-1), Kansas (5-1), Kentucky (5-2), Lamar (8-1), Marshall (5-1), Middle Tennessee (6-2), Mississippi State (5-3), Missouri (5-2), New Mexico (6-1), North Carolina (0-3), Oklahoma (4-4), Oral Roberts (6-2), Oregon (4-3), Portland (5-2), San Diego (5-0-1), Texas State (4-2), Troy (7-0), UC Irvine (5-1), UCF (6-1), UNLV (4-3), Washington State (6-1), West Virginia (4-3), WKU (7-1),
Dropped out: Oregon (24), Arizona (27).
By conference: SEC 10, ACC 9, Big 12 3, Pac-12 3, American Athletic 1, Big Ten 1, Big West 1, Sun Belt 1, Western Athletic 1.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Dick Howser Trophy, Regional Players of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors Division I Players of the Week, the Stopper of the Year, and publication and writing contests.