LSU (3-0) tops NCBWA Division I Poll

Preseason No. 1 LSU swept Western Michigan to stay atop our Division I poll.
Preseason No. 1 LSU swept Western Michigan to stay atop our Division I poll.

DALLAS (NCBWA) – The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association continues its tradition of NCAA Division I polls for the 26th year with its 2023 weekly surveys. 

Preseason No. 1 LSU swept Western Michigan to remain unbeaten and hold the top spot for two weeks in succession. Defending NCAA champion Ole Miss (first ever) moved up from No. 7 to No. 5 after a season-opening series sweep. 

Some of the big movers from preseason to week one also were TCU from No.16 to 8, Southern Miss from No. 20 to 15, Virginia from No.19 to 17, Texas Tech from No. 20 to 18, Alabama from No. 25 to 21, South Carolina from No. 28 to 25, Arizona from No. 33 to 27, and Grand Canyon from not rated to 29, among others. 

There have been nine conferences (eight this week) represented in the first two standings of 2023, and there were 14 different conferences in the 2022 NCBWA polls. 

The 2023 poll voters come from among 34 college baseball writers and related media persons from throughout the nation. The ’23 season features 305 NCAA Division I baseball-playing schools, and for more information or to join the NCBWA, please go to 

4.Texas A&MSEC3-05
5.Ole MissSEC3-07
6.Wake ForestACC4-08
8.TCUBig 122-116
12.East CarolinaAmerican Athletic3-012
14.North CarolinaACC2-113
15.Southern MissSun Belt3-020
16.MarylandBig Ten2-115
18.Virginia TechACC2-118
19.Oklahoma StateBig 121-211
20.Texas TechBig 123-022
22.N.C. StateACC3-024
25.South CarolinaSEC3-028
26.Oregon StatePac-122-123
29.Grand CanyonWestern Athletic2-140
30.Florida StateACC3-032
Others receiving votes (listed alphabetically): Alabama State (2-1), Appalachian State (3-0), Arizona State (3-0), Cal State Fullerton (1-2), California Baptist (2-1), Campbell (2-1), Central Michigan (2-1), Clemson (3-0), Coastal Carolina (2-1), Connecticut (2-1), Coppin State (3-0), CSU Northridge (3-0), DBU (3-0), FAU (3-0), FGCU (4-0), Georgia (2-1), Georgia Southern (2-1), Georgia Tech (3-0), Iowa (3-0), Kansas State (3-0), Marshall (3-0), Mississippi State (2-1), Missouri (2-1), Oral Roberts (4-0), Rutgers (1-2), San Diego (3-0), South Alabama (3-0), Southern (2-2), Texas (0-3), Texas State (3-0), Troy (3-0), UC Irvine (3-0), UC Santa Barbara (2-1), UNC (0-0), UNLV (3-0), USC (3-0), Washington State (4-0), Western Kentucky (3-0).
Dropped out: Connecticut (2-1), Texas (0-3), UC Santa Barbara (2-1).
By conference: SEC 10, ACC 8, Pac-12 5, Big 12 3, American Athletic 1, Big Ten 1, Sun Belt 1, Western Athletic 1.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Dick Howser Trophy, Regional Players of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors Division I Players of the Week, the Stopper of the Year, and publication and writing contests.